Skip to content

A Nice Morning In The Studio

January 27, 2012

WIP View 1

WIP View 2

This morning turned out to be a  joyful smearing of paint – on canvas, on panels, and all over my hands. I had spent way too many hours this week at the computer working on digital art, which can be addicting in its own way, but can be physically draining too. It’s good to change focus for a little while.

I finally broke out of my fear of going larger with some collage on canvas. Well, I guess you can call it collage, though for now it’s mostly paint, and lots of texture. I want to shake my fixation on the idea that canvas=paint. The collage elements of weathered and hand painted papers that you do see are partially obscured by a blending around the edges into the surrounding paint.

Alongside these two canvases you will see two of my boxes with ongoing work. And you might notice the magazine pages that I’ve used to clean the paint off my knives and brayers.

I’ve taken two shots, each from the opposite side, for a better view of what’s going on so far. These canvases aren’t the really large ones, of course, but I thought maybe it was best to make a gradual transition to larger. But those old canvases are right there waiting to be next.

Have a great weekend!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2012 7:42 pm

    I love seeing artist studios and works in progress. It is appealing to that bit of voyeur in me. :P)

  2. January 28, 2012 5:40 am

    love where these are going so far. Wonderful effects and I’m liking your colour combos. Looking forward to a closer look as you develop all of these. Love what you’ve done with those boxes too, the black very dramatic.

    • January 28, 2012 9:30 am

      Thanks, Bren. The box with the black is going to be tricky to resolve, because I liked it before I worked on it again. So I don’t want to destroy what I had.

  3. January 28, 2012 2:05 pm

    I too dabble in both digital art and physical art. There is something soothing when creating a painting or collage that just can’t be replicated in the digital realm. I love the larger two pieces – so much to admire here! Have you tried working with encaustics? From the looks of your art, you would enjoy it 🙂

    • January 28, 2012 2:27 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Tara. I so agree that you sometimes just need to get your hands in the paint! And yes, I do love encaustics. I’ve done them in the past, but feel that if I did decide to do it again, it would require a commitment, a sort of shifting of gears in the studio. So I keep shoving the thought to the back burner. Pardon the pun. 🙂

  4. January 29, 2012 2:01 pm

    Everyone tells me I need to work larger but frankly all that empty space scares me to death. I’ve put work together to form triptychs but that’s cheating. I think working your way up in size is a good solution. I’m getting ready to make two large pieces for over my bed. You’ve inspired me to get to it.

    • January 29, 2012 5:51 pm

      Margaret! I’m so glad I’m not alone. I’ve done large scale paintings in the past, but not incorporating some of the collage elements that I’m now doing. Why is this so hard? It’s a mystery.

      Honestly, I have in my mind the idea of scaling up an actual drawing of one of my collages and then reproducing it any way I have to. If there is printed imagery or text, I’ll enlarge that and paint it. I think that might break through the hesitancy I have with it.

      Good luck with your experiment. I’d love to see the result!

  5. February 3, 2012 4:58 pm

    Interesting to see the works on the table and compare them to the finished pieces. Thanks so much for inviting us into your workroom

  6. February 5, 2012 11:33 pm

    The studio photo is so inspiring. Thank you for that. I’m a big fan of your art and writing as well! -Angel

    • February 6, 2012 6:38 am

      Angel, thanks for the introduction. I appreciate your taking the time to comment. It’s great to discover you and your art. Keep up the good work!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

