Skip to content

Works In Progress

January 30, 2012

These are the two larger mixed media paintings shown in my previous post on Friday. Lots of progress, and they may be close to finished. These are my first real collage paintings. In the past I’ve either done “collage” or “paintings.”

Observations

I learned that with collage on canvas I like the security of the grid, even if it’s a loose grid. I learned that paper can substitute for paint to change a color or a value. It’s hard to describe the difference between working small and going larger with collage. The small collages in sizes up to 11×14 inches are much more intimate and can be completed in a relatively short time. Decisions are usually instantaneous. Not always, but that’s my general experience.

With a larger canvas, I tend to take more time and step back, or sit and contemplate the piece from across the room. In that aspect, it’s no different from my other large paintings that did not incorporate collage.

The glossy areas are from the afternoon sun when these were shot. When they are finished the surfaces will be uniformly glazed, probably in a satin finish. I’m pleased with the wrinkles of some of the papers, which works well with the deep paint texture.

Work in Progress #1

Work in Progres #2

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 5:25 pm

    Both pieces are quite wonderful, Martha. I see you made some of the grid paper and tinted it gold just like I did. Isn’t that a wonderful technique? Very useful in small doses. I love looking at your work.

  2. January 30, 2012 6:29 pm

    These are starting to look fabulous. I understand the power of the grid, although I rarely use it myself. But I recognize its value and appeal. You use it really well.

  3. January 30, 2012 9:55 pm

    I have so much food for thought when I visit your post. I framed a small, intricate collage that I am donating to an art auction so you might want to check my blog and see what I have made. It is complex and has layers much like my quilts but that is how my works seem to progress. Quilters recognize the power of the grid!!! have a great week! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  4. January 31, 2012 2:14 pm

    So beautiful dear Martha, I am impatient to see the finished. Thank you, with my love, nia

  5. February 1, 2012 2:15 am

    Beautiful pieces, love the combination of paint texture and the collage. Hope you continue to marry the two 🙂

    • February 1, 2012 6:34 am

      Thanks, Bren! I’m sure I will, because I’ve enjoyed collage so much since I finally became comfortable with it. It’s always made sense to go ahead and push it in the direction of paint and canvas.

  6. February 1, 2012 2:01 pm

    These are so lovely Martha! I love the composition and the fact that you are working on larger canvas. Can’t wait to see them complete, but I love them just as they are now. 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

