Skip to content

New Collage in Muted Colors

November 1, 2011

Weights and Measures - Collage, 8x8"

This one is a change of pace from the more colorful collages that I posted over the past two weeks. It feels right for now, reflecting the more subtle colors of the season. The leaves are still beautiful and bright, but too soon the trees will show their bare branches, a beauty in their own right.

The papers used in this collage are painted magazine pages. My new favorite art material. I love the way the original colors peek through my own paint colors and the original patterns mingle with the patterns of the brush strokes and swirls of paint. If you haven’t tried this yet, I highly recommend that you experiment a little. There are always plenty of nice surprises.

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2011 10:18 pm

    Very lovely Martha! I love these muted tones for some reason. As you said, we’re almost to that ‘muted tones’ time of year. 🙂

    • November 2, 2011 11:12 am

      Thank you, Itaya. I love them too. I think they’re my favorite color palette when all is said and done.

  2. November 2, 2011 10:20 am

    Lovely!

  3. November 2, 2011 2:00 pm

    Very subtle, I like it. Have you seen this video? It might give you some more ideas for your magazine pages

  4. November 2, 2011 3:20 pm

    Heartily agree that the softened hues seem to reflect the quiet of November. Lovely work, Martha!

  5. November 2, 2011 11:07 pm

    What a great idea, magazine pages. I love the layering, the textures it produces. Very nice.

    • November 3, 2011 11:07 am

      JeMA, thanks for stopping by and taking a look. I am really enjoying the wonderful variety of textures and colors too. Try it!

      • November 15, 2011 12:28 am

        I thought your blog looked familiar…such great design and texture. Please disregard my comment above as I looped back through Twitter. You know as a mom sometimes I forget things! (losing brain cells by the minute)

      • November 15, 2011 8:16 am

        Don’t feel bad, JeMA! I’m a mom too, so I wouldn’t have even noticed what was wrong with the previous comment. 🙂 Seriously though, I get contacts mixed up all the time, since a lot of us overlap between blogging, twitter, facebook, etsy, and Google+. I know without a doubt I’ve said “nice to meet you” to people I already know! (Heck, I even do that in real life!) Just glad to have made the connection and look forward to seeing more of your blog and your work.

      • November 15, 2011 12:43 pm

        I had to laugh at your comment about how you do this in real life, a girl I can relate to! I look forward to seeing more of your work too. Love your positive, humorous outlook on life!

  6. November 16, 2011 11:35 am

    I love your work!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.