Skip to content

Brush With the Bridge, Part 2

October 31, 2011

Saturday was a perfect day, and I was able to spend some time on the Old Railroad Bridge spanning our two local counties, photographing the fall colors along the river, and doing a quick watercolor sketch of one view from the bridge. I had a chance to chat with a few local artists who were set up on the bridge painting.

River View From the Old Railroad Bridge - Watercolor, 8x10"

I took a few shots on the bridge and from the bridge . . .

Old Railroad Bridge, Tennessee River, Sheffield, Alabama

Tennessee River, From the Old Railroad Bridge

Then Jim and I had a picnic lunch along the wooded path and I took more pictures.

After that, we took a ride a few miles along the Natchez Trace Parkway, across the state line into Tennessee, and I took still more pictures.

These were just a few of the colorful fall scenes. What a beautiful day all the way around.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2011 9:44 pm

    I love the way your brush captures each leaf. Thank you for your words of paint!

  2. November 1, 2011 4:54 am

    What a glorious day. Stunning photos and artwork

  3. November 2, 2011 10:22 am

    so fun! just love being outside and it looks like a nice fall day.

  4. patq permalink
    November 2, 2011 5:04 pm

    Love, love the fall photos and that beautiful bridge. What a great day you had!
    I am finally back in my house after spending 2 days with my son and his wife. I had no power (heat and light) since our unusual early Nor’easter on Sat. night, so what a relief to get back to my art supplies, computer and my bed, now that power back on today. (Wed), so your posting is fodder for the creative withdrawal.
    Thanks, Patq

    • November 3, 2011 11:00 am

      Oh my, Pat! I’m sorry that storm interrupted your life. Hope things are back to normal soon. My next post is dedicated to you and others who went through the early snow.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

