Skip to content

Green Thumbs Do Run In Families

August 23, 2010

As you may already know, my granddaughter Jill was here with us for a week. We spent hours puttering around my yard and garden, talking about growing things. Though she is a university student living in a small apartment, she has had a little vegetable garden in a raised bed for the past three-plus years. We didn’t live in the same town, even when we were still in Florida, so I never got to visit her at her own place.

She told me that she frequently adopts potted plants that need homes. Her grandfather on her mother’s side is retiring from gardening now, and she’s taken a lot of his plants home with her and nurtured them.

Then there was my mother, who was a vegetable gardener, and who never met a potted plant that she didn’t form an immediate attachment to.

So the green thumb runs strong from both sides of Jill’s family. When she got back home, she sent me some pictures of her plants.

I’m thrilled to see young people taking such an interest in growing things. It gives me great hope for the future.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 10:56 am

    A green thumbs is a wonderful genetic trait to pass on…my sister and brother and I have all gotten my father’s passion for green and expressed it in different ways. Its a challenge because my father was so taken with gardening he wrote a book of essays celebrating his affair with vegetables. What can you do? I fell in love with succulents!

    • August 24, 2010 12:44 pm

      Hannah, mine really manifested late in life, when I began to feel I had the time to devote to it. I made a major discovery after years of disastrous results with potted plants: They need water, but just the right amount! 🙂

      Your dad’s essays must be a treasure! I’d love to see them.

  2. August 23, 2010 5:02 pm

    Lucky people who have that growth gene. My plants are white and square, and I water them with paint.

  3. Sandra permalink
    August 23, 2010 9:05 pm

    Wonderful photos, and great what Jill has done with growing lovely plants in a small space. The plants all look so healthy and thriving and are so artistically arranged. Does Jill paint too?

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

