Skip to content

An Art Gift From the Garden

August 24, 2010

Aren’t these beautiful? This summer my cucumber vines tumbled out over the sides of the garden box onto the grass. A couple of grass cuttings later, with the kids doing their best to miss the cucumbers with the weed eater, I decided to put some flattened cardboard boxes down between the vines and the grass. That worked great for the rest of cucumber season. We now have enough pickles to last until at least next summer.

So when I tore all the plants out of that bed, the cardboard boxes had endured rain and all kinds of weather and bugs and stains from the grass and plants. You know me, I just couldn’t throw them away. They will go into my Weathered Papers stash.

I already have an idea for some collages using bits of this corrugated cardboard.

Note: For previous posts about my weathered papers, there is a category to the right by the same title, which will bring up all entries on the subject.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 1:01 am

    Quote: “Is this art, or may I dump it?”
    (frequently cited in our household)

  2. August 25, 2010 8:55 am

    Eva, I have mine fairly well trained as well! 🙂

  3. Nancy permalink
    August 29, 2010 2:33 pm

    what a treat… lovely to know that the circle continues – can’t wait to see what you do with the cardboard reincarnations

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

