Skip to content

My Cow Painting

August 20, 2010

“Sundown” – Acrylic on Canvas, 11 x 14″

The painting that I wrote about yesterday has ended up far more literal than would be my personal taste. The reason for that is that I normally paint nonobjectively, and do not use images of nature as a jumping off point. Consequently, when I set out to paint something realistic, it ends up realistically. I tend to keep tweaking and seem unable to stop myself. But that’s OK. It’s a commission. I hope my niece likes it.

I’m not complaining, but just noting it for future reference, and as a possible direction in which to explore. There are so many incredible landscapes just a short ride down the road and beyond, and they are my home, literally. So I know that at some point they will work their way into my abstracts. But for now, I think I’ll just enjoy doing literal studies of them, which is really what I consider this painting to be.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2010 2:10 pm

    Wow! This is awesome!! Love how near the original photo it is. Excellent job Martha! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. August 20, 2010 2:30 pm

    I love the colors and contrast of light and dark. I started working as a RE Agent, and hope to get time to create something. Thanks for sharing.

    • August 20, 2010 5:54 pm

      Good luck with your new gig, Caroline. Working will take some creative energy I’m sure, but save some for your art!

  3. August 20, 2010 2:34 pm

    I love it.

  4. August 20, 2010 2:40 pm

    Maybe if you could reduce the cows to pieces of dark matter with a hint of legs? I agree with you that you are an abstract painter; being near to the photo is not exactly a compliment, I’m afraid. The sunny parts in the background and the contrast with the shadow however make me want to kneel down in awe.

    • August 20, 2010 5:53 pm

      Yes! You’re right, Eva. I am going to try to learn how to strike a nice balance in further nature studies. I know that I want them loose, and I don’t want to hit the viewer on the head. Thanks you for kind words re the contrast and the shadow. I was pleased with that at least.

  5. August 20, 2010 3:29 pm

    ITS GORGEOUS!!!

  6. August 20, 2010 6:07 pm

    Well, I know nothing about painting as you well know BUT I do know what I like and I really like it. Looks to me like the cow saw you painting him and was watching you watching him (or her).
    Don’t give it up.

    • August 21, 2010 6:23 am

      Linda, I’m very glad you like it. Six of us were out at the farm that afternoon, very late, and the sun was just about down as you can see. And their owner had a bucket of sweet feed, which is their treat. We went inside the gate, and they saw too many people. They wanted the treats but were concerned about their babies. So that was the look they were giving us.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

