Skip to content

Subway Art Gallery Opening

April 11, 2009

My thanks go out to Kesha Bruce for posting this on her blog. This is brilliant. An art gallery opening is set up on a New York subway platform. Everything in the subway platform environment is treated as fine art.

Happy Easter, everyone!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2009 12:01 pm

    Thank you for this Martha. This is perfect…in so many ways. The station is in Chelsea with all the other galleries. The red dot, the coat rack, the man seriously admiring the “artwork.” So clever. I wish I had happened upon it totally by accident! Thanks too for your comment on my blog!

  2. April 11, 2009 6:02 pm

    I absolutely LOVE this kind of happening! Performance art at its most fun. And the kicker: The red SOLD sticker on the “Arrival and Departure of the Train”!

    The film itself is art! I love your Saturday finds feature and look forward to them.

    D

  3. April 12, 2009 12:21 am

    I am going to be a bit controversial and say that i have a problem with this kind of art!
    even though I have spent the last three years at a university that would jump at this sort of thing, I still cannot help but wonder if the people who arrange these things are realyy winding people up!
    The look of “What is going on here?” on the subway passengers as they encountered it
    A Paintbrush and canvas are my thing!
    Sorry to disagree with you on this one!!!!!

    • April 12, 2009 2:56 am

      Hey Chris, a paintbrush and canvas are my thing too, but there’s room in the world for all kinds of art. It’s performance and conceptual art, pure and simple, and even though there’s a little bit of a tongue in cheek quality about it all, I still loved it.

  4. April 12, 2009 11:44 am

    thank you Martha!
    🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

