Skip to content

Bridge Art Fair New York 2009

April 10, 2009

I love to watch art show videos, so this morning I though I’d share my YouTube research.

This video from James Kalm, they Guy on the Bike gives you some highlights of his tour of the New York Bridge Art Fair in February, 2009, and takes me back to a fun time. I attended this show in Miami three years ago and have wanted to go back to the fairs, but have not had the opportunity yet.

What caught my attention the most came almost 4 minutes into the tour, where the work of Florence Putterman is shown in the Projects Gallery booth. Putterman is well-known in my area, as her work has been represented and exhibited in galleries and museums throughout the west coast of Florida for many years. Her use of sand and crushed shells as a deeply textural substrate for her large scaled figurative paintings is striking and very much a hallmark of her distinctive style.

The above Projects Gallery link also has a five-minute video showcasing two of their other gallery artists with a great statement from gallery director Helen Meyrick about the gallery’s vision and philosophy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2009 8:03 pm

    Great one M!
    I love to watch these too and I thought i was the only one calling James Kalm – “that guy on the bike”! funny. Thanks for another great post as always! Enjoying it!

    • April 11, 2009 9:38 am

      Hey Cyndy – I feel like a fly on the wall in Chelsea when I follow him around. It’s always fun. He even calls himself “They guy on the bike.” If you click on the link you’ll be taken to his own art website. I hadn’t noticed his website link in the videos until recently.

  2. April 11, 2009 9:36 am

    Hey Martha, that was fun! A good way to start my day. I like this guy on a bike I’m gonna check out his site. And there was some “interesting stuff” I especially liked the artists that rented for $450 an hour!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

