Skip to content

Shifting Gears Again

November 1, 2013

It’s good to shift gears on a regular basis. Traveling at full speed all the time can put you in a slump without warning, and getting stuck in low gear can grind away at your creativity and lead to boredom. So I do try to mix it up just to keep things interesting.

Our classes in my studio have come to an end until after the first of the year. I’m glad about that, because it means I can feel free to make a mess in the studio and not have to disturb whatever projects I’ve started in a burst of creative frenzy.  I feel excited at that prospect.

WIP 06_20_13

The garden has slowed down, as gardens do in the fall. I’m in the process of putting several of the beds under a deep covering of compost and mulch. The broccoli, cabbage and greens are growing nicely in the wonderful cool weather. But that’s it until I start all over again in February. Having a garden has made a huge difference in my life. I’m able to stop what I’m doing inside when I need a break, take the dogs with me, and go get some exercise, pushing the wheelbarrow or turning compost.

Kale Mustard Garlic

In the last post I whined a little about having to do some extra-special cleaning and tossing for an upcoming family visit. That too is going well, because I do just a small project or two a day.

I’m sprucing up my neglected Etsy shops as well. Any of you who are on Etsy must know that it’s only as profitable as the attention you put into it. And I’ve been guilty of letting things slide over the past few months. I’ve added back some large works in my painting shop. After all, they will sit here unappreciated unless they can be seen. Here’s a picture I made of one of them yesterday, using just a generic furniture store backdrop. You can go to the listing by clicking on the picture.

View From RR Bridge Wall

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2013 12:06 pm

    You are so right about the value of getting outside and doing something physical to shake out the mental cobwebs. Apparently, Charles Dickens used to walk up to 20 miles a day and commented that without walking, “I think I should just explode and perish.” I’m not that extreme, I agree with you, turning the compost is just fine. Thanks for the Etsy hint. Agnes

  2. November 2, 2013 7:36 am

    As always enjoy and look forward to your Blogs. Really like the pieces on your table in the studio; and, also the garden pictures. I will miss not being able to get fresh produce in our area. I was very interested to see your Painting Shop on Etsy.

    • November 2, 2013 11:04 am

      Thank you, Shirley! Yes, our farmer’s market is closing this weekend. However, we have an incredible local organic farm that’s open to the public 3 days a week year round. They have two huge, very old, glass greenhouses, plus a big hoop house they erected last year. So blessed to have them.

  3. Sandra permalink
    November 3, 2013 3:25 pm

    Love your painting, love your garden, and here we are going into summer so am doing lots of planting, both flowers and vegetables. We also have a range of excellent farmers markets so fresh produce is never a problem. Do love summer food – less cooking and washing up! Am going to two art classes, my usual abstract one and a course on doing abstracts in soft pastels. Have a chance to exhibit a painting later this month if I get a suitable one done in time! Garden taking up too much time.

    • November 5, 2013 9:16 am

      Thank you, Sandra. Yes, I can relate to the time required by gardening. However, I’ve come to see it as part of the art, so I don’t worry as much about it now. I hope your exhibit works out. Good luck!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.