Skip to content

Putting Myself On the List

October 24, 2013

Studio from Entrance

That will be my mantra today. I find myself stuck in a feeling of being overwhelmed, not knowing what to do next. You’d think I would have learned better after all these years of being out of a traditional workplace environment. But even now, it’s still difficult remembering to prioritize, to make lists, and to make sure I put studio time on one of those lists. That is something that should happen every day. But it hasn’t.

Oh, I have lists — in my head. And they are long, nagging ones. There’s a big family reunion coming up over Thanksgiving, and it will involve a week of getting together with our kids and their spouses and kids. Some of them will be staying at our house; others are staying at a big rental place. So of course I’m already preparing for that in my head. Yesterday I did manage to start committing those tasks to paper. Things to fix, things to clean, things to spruce up, inside and out — you know the drill. I want our house to be as near perfect as I can get it, and that’s a tall order. Maybe I’ll end up settling for just clean. It’s going to be a party like no other. We are all excited!

So in the midst of just living day to day, paying bills, taking care of my husband and our four furry kids, getting the garden winterized, putting away the last vegetables that I’m getting ready to pick, and with the anticipation of a big holiday coming up, I have yet to remember to put myself on the list.

Without seeing yourself on the list, your Self will be forgotten.  I’ve been reminded more and more what I’m missing by not being in the studio on a regular basis. Just walking into the room gives me such a feeling of being “home.” Home to my Self. So today, and from this day forward (until I forget again) I’m putting myself on the list.

Note:  What’s missing in the above picture? Me!

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2013 12:07 pm

    Your situation Martha brings to light one of the advantages of not having separate studio space. My paintings and photography canvas prints are leaning everywhere and the studio loft is where my laptop resides. I do remember to pay the bills… just barely 😉 So my reminder to self is to get out and go for long walks by myself more often. It is all a question of balance I suppose. Enjoy your painting time! And even I am excited about your large gathering, I promise there will be no desire or time for anyone to give a second thought it what is fix and not fixed.

    • October 24, 2013 12:29 pm

      Terrill, I do think it all comes down to balance. The walks can be very contemplative and can nurture creativity. I think you are right about the issue of being “ready” for the big get together. On the day everyone starts arriving, I’ll worry about it for maybe 30 seconds and that will be it! But I do know that at my age I can’t wait till the last minute to do the absolutely essential things. Have to pace myself! 😉

  2. October 24, 2013 12:36 pm

    Oh, this is perfect! In fact, I just hung a note to myself over the desk as a reminder to do just that. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • October 25, 2013 6:15 am

      You’re welcome, Cindy! You are an inspiration as well, so I guess we have to keep inspiring each other! 😉

  3. Tina permalink
    October 24, 2013 4:08 pm

    Have you ever checked out Flylady.com? Marla is such a help with encouragement, simple routines to keep you organized and taking care of yourself is always right on top of the list. The advice is free and it’s been a huge help for me in keeping the overwhelm under control. Your holiday with the family is sounds wonderful, keep taking care of you!

    • October 25, 2013 6:16 am

      Thank you, Tina! I had a fleeting memory of that website as I was thinking about all this the other day. It’s been a long time since I’ve been there, but will definitely check it out again. I remember it was very helpful to me a few years ago.

  4. October 24, 2013 5:38 pm

    Enjoy your family gathering, dont stress or overthink it all because you will not enjoy it. After first few minutes, there will be no thought about what is and isnt done yet. They are family after all. And you know chores are always there to be done!
    When its all over, take the time for yourself. Write it down if you have to, but you are first on the list…. 🙂

  5. Anonymous permalink
    October 24, 2013 6:07 pm

    A good one…..start early on the party plan so the “self care” plan doesn’t get “shelved.” From one who knows from experience!

    • October 25, 2013 6:18 am

      Margaret, you know the funny part? It’s a gathering to celebrate my 70th birthday. At first they were trying to make it a surprise, but the plans got way too complicated for that, and I’m so glad it’s now all out in the open now. If they’d just all shown up on my doorstep, somebody would have had a lot of ‘splainin’ to do!!!

  6. October 25, 2013 11:27 am

    Good Martha – “Ditto” for me – you could not have written and sent this at a better time.
    Thanks!

    • October 25, 2013 3:25 pm

      Glad it struck a chord, Shirley. And we do have to remember that this will only get worse as the holidays approach. I enjoy them, but am always so glad for the quiet of January.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

