Skip to content

Hand Painted Papers for Collage

August 27, 2011

I have blogged about papers more than once before, but that’s because I’m in love with papers. I love painting on paper and throwing it into my collage pile. The less deliberation the better. I often keep sheets of all kinds of plain paper at hand, both white and various colors, just to use as blotters, either on my table or on a painting. The resulting buildup can get interesting.

Here are some of my current favorite papers and a quick explanation of the processes. Maybe these will get your wheels turning. Sometimes the simplest marks can be beautiful when used in a collage.

Paint was randomly rolled onto the paper to clean off a brayer.

On the left is one of many mat board scraps that I sometimes use to squeeze out paint that I then roll onto a brayer. Here, I put down squiggles of black paint from a fine-tipped bottle onto the mat board and stamped it several times onto paper that already had paint from a brayer. As you can see, there was enough black paint to keep on stamping.

Tea-stained newsprint that I used over and over for a blotter on paintings, creating a buildup of many layers.

At the top is a piece of masking tape that had been holding my paper table cover down. Over time it got a lot of paint buildup. I'm still looking for the perfect place to put it into a collage. At the bottom are just two pieces that were used as blotters on a square panel.

Paint was deposited onto the paper with a piece of mat board, stamping it down several times and in different places.

This blue paper was laid down lightly on top of a heavy coat of wet paint on a panel, then pulled off. The spots are drips that were already on the paper.

Here’s another post that I wrote one year ago with more examples and ideas. For more, just click on the tag “hand painted papers” in the tag cloud in the sidebar.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2011 3:19 pm

    Yummy papers! They will make beautiful collages.

  2. August 27, 2011 7:31 pm

    I love the fact that so many of these were created organically while in the process of making art.

  3. August 28, 2011 1:29 am

    I like the blue one most! Finished artwork already.

  4. August 28, 2011 9:17 pm

    These are really wonderful, Martha. I use incidental or accidental papers like this, but appreciate the reminder to do so, as sometimes the purposefully painted book pages automatically grab my attention first. Lately I’ve been discovering that the parchment used to separate book pages for painting actually end up with edges covered with layers of beautiful drips and overflow of paint themselves! Yet they tend to get put in a nearby bin where they can’t really be considered, and just continue to be grabbed when needed for the original purpose. Thank you for your excellent reminder — beautiful papers you have made!

  5. August 28, 2011 10:06 pm

    Thanks, Nancy. I love finding bits of papers that have accidental drips and blobs. Not only do they add richness to a composition, but sometimes they help me to see unexpected color combinations.

  6. August 29, 2011 3:30 pm

    Your papers are always beautiful, Martha. I’ve often considered using bits of paper in my encaustics but never can quite get the ideas together. (I plan to take a workshop in a few months- maybe that’ll lead me somewhere!)

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

