Skip to content

A Sanity Break

August 25, 2011
tags:

For the Sake of My Sanity - Collage with Weathered and Hand Painted Papers, 8x8"

Late this afternoon I stopped what I was working on with my digital art projects and walked into the studio for a brief sanity break. It was good to run my fingers through the stacks of weathered  and painted papers. Tomorrow I want to show some scans of examples of some of  my favorite papers that I came across. I look through them and they make me smile.
This collage fits right in with the ones I’ve been doing, but with an added twist. I came across a collection of  little bits of collage glued to the backs of glass squares. I had created them to be used as pendants or refrigerator magnets and they are sitting in a little drawer in my  studio, doing nothing for anyone. So on a whim I glued one of them to this collage. I don’t know if you can tell what the imagery is, but it’s a snippet of leaves and branches.  I hadn’t really thought of them as possible additions to collage, but I think it works.
7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 10:09 pm

    Love this awesome collage Martha! Was going to ask you what the little square was in the center and then I read the rest of your post. It works great! Love how you’re so willing to go with your intuition and try whatever moves you. 🙂

    • August 26, 2011 9:43 am

      Thank you, Itaya! So far, I find that the more life experience you accumulate, the more creative risk you’re willing to take. 😉

  2. August 26, 2011 8:48 am

    Sensational collage. The weathered look suits you.

  3. August 31, 2011 9:36 am

    Your collages looks so tactile and always a bit 3d, I think the piece works great there.

  4. September 9, 2011 3:32 pm

    I love the texture of this piece. It is almost like peeling bark.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

