Skip to content

I Love Sunflowers

May 5, 2010

“Sunflower” – Collage, 4 x 4″

Yes, we have sunflowers in the yard too. But there are only a few seedlings in a corner of the fence, and I’ll probably want to plant more. Can one ever have too many sunflowers?

We spent another hot, sweaty day out in the yard cleaning out shrubbery beds and planting the rest of our garden boxes.

And I have a lot of new collages to show you. This is one of them.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2010 3:40 am

    This one makes you think. What is this on the sheets between headline and flower picture? What is the sunflowery in it? And you start seeing it.

    • May 6, 2010 8:21 am

      Well Eva, I’m glad the composition works for you, with a dash of intrigue thrown in for good measure!

  2. May 6, 2010 5:57 am

    What a cheerful picture. I just painted a watercolor Sunflower and would like to share it, but don’t know how to add a picture to this blog. I have my “first” showing at the end of the month, and am very excited. Does anyone have suggestions on how to set up an inexpensive display in a 50 sq ft area? It will be indoors and Ihave a nice 4 ft table to use. I have a large and small easel, portfolio book, etc. Any help will be appreciated.

    • May 6, 2010 8:24 am

      Congratulations Caroline!! That’s so exciting. The only thing I can suggest regarding your display is that you “merchandise” it to keep it interesting and to draw people over. Perhaps your most arresting piece on the large easel? Don’t forget plenty of handouts in the form of little flyers about you and your art, and some business cards. You can print a small number of those yourself on your inkjet printer.

      If you put your sunflower picture on your blog and give us a link to it, we can all take a look!

      Please let us know how the show goes.

  3. May 6, 2010 12:13 pm

    wonderful!!

  4. May 6, 2010 7:05 pm

    I agree with the possible marketing of this sunflowers maybe in a set of cards…this is so festive with the summer quickly approaching. Be careful in the humidity and heat. I am working on my final exhibit projects for my upcoming exhibit on May 28TH. One day at a time…one step… tomorrow I am demonstrating for a day of creation in the small Catholic School..we are drawing with embroidery flosses and embellishing with colorful buttons. Flower Power in the 5TH grade. Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • May 11, 2010 5:46 am

      Mary Helen, you will be doing one of my favorite things — doing art with kids! I’d love to see what they do.

      Will be watching for news of your exhibit!

  5. May 9, 2010 5:11 am

    Thank you all for the wonderful suggestions. I did post the picture on my webside, just go to carolinesloft.com. Mary Helen’s suggestion is a great idea! Now I am having concerns on pricing. Of course, I will have to charge more from framed pictures. Thanks again

    • May 11, 2010 5:49 am

      Love your sunflower picture, Caroline! Oh yes, you should definitely do sets of greeting cards if you have time. That would be a nice thing to have in our display.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.