Skip to content

A New Collage

May 4, 2010

“Are We Having Fun?” – Collage, 4 x 5″

This collage is very small. The image size is 2-1/2 x 3″ give or take, and with the border it’s 4 x 5″. Of course I just couldn’t resist using one of my daisy punches in the composition. It is punched out of a piece of origami paper. It will be available in my Etsy shop for collage.

Today has been crazy busy. We transplanted 15 tomato plants, 6 pepper plants, a dozen or so beet seedlings, and planted more beet seeds, carrots, cucumbers, and zipper peas. If you aren’t from the American South, you might not have experienced zipper peas! And to you I say, “you haven’t lived.”

More gardening to go. There are green beans and squash to get planted. We would have finished today, but each little square raised bed takes four 50-lb. bags of soil and we got too tired to do more. It will wait for another day.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra permalink
    May 4, 2010 6:41 pm

    I love the sound of all your healthy and tasty vegetables. I had never heard of “zipper peas” and had to stop immediately and look them up. Sounds like they could be what we call “snow peas” here – do you know if that is right? I start an evening class in Mediterranean vegetarian cookery next week, we might be cooking with vegetables like yours. It is autumn here and my vegetable garden is winding down for the winter.

    • May 4, 2010 9:15 pm

      Sandra, snow peas are eaten intact in the whole pod, right? Zipper peas are shelled and are fat and buttery when you cook them. Here’s a link to several kinds of southern peas including zipper peas.

      http://bit.ly/9nq1IF

      I’m learning on a blog or two that I need to plant way more than I have if I want any appreciable harvest. I don’t want to freeze them necessarily, but I do want enough to make a meal! LOL!

      Enjoy your class. That sounds wonderful.

  2. May 4, 2010 11:25 pm

    Great Collage Martha! Definitely has an Asian feel to it. Love that little daisy punch out you put on it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I was raised not many miles from where you are now Martha and I had never heard of zipper peas! We always had a huge garden and don’t know why we wouldn’t have had them. Glad you had that link as I saw something I’ve missed so much while living in the Pac NW…Butter Peas! No one here has ever heard of them and I remember they tasted so yummy. A very buttery kind of butter bean is what they always tasted like to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for the delicious memories!

    • May 5, 2010 5:43 am

      Thanks Itaya! Yes, I love butter peas too, equally as much as zipper peas. Even baby limas are wonderful fresh from the garden too.

  3. May 5, 2010 12:51 am

    Fun, indeed! Stunning effect of the chopped pattern!

    • May 5, 2010 5:44 am

      Thank you, Eva. I have to be careful with these punches. They are like garlic — a little goes a long way. Can’t just use them everywhere! (. . . or can I?) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. May 5, 2010 1:56 am

    As soon as I saw the new collage I thought “yep, there’s the new punch in action”. Very cool.

    • May 5, 2010 5:53 am

      Hehe, they are such fun. My hands are sore from so much punching, so I do have to give them a rest now that I’ve amassed a small stack of them.

  5. May 10, 2010 10:51 pm

    This is so up my alley! Love it.

  6. May 11, 2010 8:28 am

    This would also translate beautifully to a larger (16×20 or bigger) painting, I think.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

