Skip to content

Beginnings

March 10, 2010

These pictures represent an array of incomplete collages. They all have a basic composition, but need added elements to “finish” them. I will need to sit down with these in the studio for a day or two in order to see what they need for resolution. It’s a fun project that will help me calm down from my current feelings of frustration. Here’s why:

For the past three days I’ve been frantically looking for my newest completed collages — about a dozen of them. I have turned my studio upside down looking for them. I’ve looked through every bin and every drawer in the studio at least three times each, and still no luck. I had them together in a stack with a big paper clip, because about half of them had not been scanned. (Yes, I looked in the office where the scanner is, and they aren’t there either.)

I know this is a scenario that plays itself out in everyone’s life from time to time. I am trying to be philosophical about it, but still I am:

  • Frustrated that I can’t put my hands on these pieces of art, some of which I really do love.
  • Determined to keep racking my brain to figure out what I could have done with them.
  • No — make that obsessed!
  • Angry at myself for either being too distracted, or too disorganized, or both.

The last time I saw them was when I was sprucing up my studio for the visit from several local friends. That was the day that I unpacked all of my big paintings so I could stack them against the wall for display. I had looked at the stack of collages and decided they probably wouldn’t care to look through those. And so I put them aside in preparation for our visit. No doubt in a very safe place! If anyone knows where I might look for them, please tell me, OK?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 7:01 pm

    Martha, several times I haven’t found my “safe place” until I’ve moved. I know you have recently moved and I don’t wish another one on you… so I am going to say pray to the goddess that separates socks from their mates in the dryer. I figure she is your strongest ally.

    And on another note I have gathered a tiny envelope of collage material. I am so curious about collage that I think I am going to read along as you go and see if I can figure it out.

    Good luck with finding the “safe place” Terrill

    • March 10, 2010 7:56 pm

      Oh Terrill! How I know about finding that safe place when we move. One year a few weeks before Christmas we had to leave unexpectedly for a family illness, so we put some little pieces of jewelry that we had bought for my husband’s two sisters in the top of our bedroom lamp shade, in their boxes. When we got back home we looked everywhere and gave up. We didn’t find them until we were packing to move to the next apartment.

      And you are inspiring me to keep going with some collage posts. We’ll have fun doing it together!

  2. Shannon permalink
    March 10, 2010 7:01 pm

    I know this may sound silly but every time I loose something I pray to St. Anthony while I look and I ALWAYS find what I’m looking for. Really. Say “Tony Tony look around… somethings lost that can’t be found.” He’ll help you, I’m telling you. : )
    Keep producing more. They’ll show up.

  3. March 10, 2010 7:07 pm

    Inevitably if I decide to put something up to keep it safe I forget where I left it – you have my sympathy. Good luck with the search

  4. March 10, 2010 7:58 pm

    Thanks, Stacey! It helps to know I’m not alone in this.

    Checked out your blog and see that you went to Gasparilla. Would love to have been there!

  5. March 11, 2010 12:33 am

    here’s to finding the stash Martha … i spose you HAVE done the backtracking in your mind ? its so very frustrating especially when you go over and over the same places …

    once, i wasnt actually looking, but imagine my huge surprise to find my wallet in the freezer … lol … (there is a wonderful metaphor there somewhere) …. luckily i hadnt time to ‘lose it’ …

    i look forward to seeing them when you find them >>> Gina
    http://ginaseye.blogspot.com/
    http://fyneartstreasures.blogspot.com/

    • March 11, 2010 3:05 am

      Gina, it’s the backtracking that’s the worst. It makes my brain hurt after a while!!

      Wallet in the freeze? Hmmmm. Cold cash immediately comes to mind.

  6. March 11, 2010 12:37 am

    Argh! I hate it when this happens! I usually found lost stuff like this weeks later when I’m looking for something completely different…good luck!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

