Skip to content

Mystery Solved

March 11, 2010

“Wrappings” – Collage, 5 x 7″

“Camo” – Collage, 5 x 7″

I found my collages! Thank you to everyone who offered your suggestions and empathy. I fully believe that writing about it and receiving all your positive suggestions was the catalyst that caused them to magically appear.

I went through every suggestion and thought about each possibility offered, even prayed to St. Anthony (thanks, Shannon!)  And to the Goddess of mate-less socks (thanks, Terrill!)

This morning, after following Mandi’s advice to think about it as I was drifting off to sleep last night, I backtracked again in my mind as Gina said, then went back out to my studio and concentrated on the least obvious places, since I knew I had looked in all the obvious ones. That little reminder came from Eva, Cath, Candy, Stacey, and Melissa.

I went through the room one more time, looking behind all the canvases and even between boxes and walls. I sat quietly for a minute or two, and felt a pull toward a plastic tub on the floor in the corner of the room, one that I had gone through several times. No, it couldn’t be that one, I thought. It contains just a lot of odds and ends that loosely pertain to collage and need sorting. In the top of the tub were two little plastic baskets nested together. I had taken them out and replaced them several times to look through the stash under them. They looked like one basket. This time, when I realized they were two and not one, I took them apart and there were the collages in the bottom basket! Glory hallelujah!!

This doesn’t fall under the “put them in a safe place” category, though they certainly were in a safe place, even from me! It definitely falls under the category of being in too big a hurry and not thinking about where I was putting them. I probably dropped them into the basket as I was cleaning up other places in the studio, and then hurriedly stacked the baskets as an afterthought.

I feel silly, but that’s nothing new. I’m just overjoyed that I’ve found them.

Shown above are two of those that haven’t been posted to the blog before. Thank you everyone. I’m so glad I have you.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 2:29 pm

    Great News! And they are delightful, no wonder you missed them.

  2. Sandra permalink
    March 11, 2010 6:38 pm

    So pleased for you that your lovely collages have turned up. I can sympathise and share your feelings of relief, having mislaid the ownership papers of a car I am selling – they turned up in a “safe place” just in time! I love the soft red/green combo of colours. Hopefully now your creativity will flow again with nothing to distract you.

  3. March 12, 2010 6:57 am

    The collages are lovely Martha. I’m so glad you found them. Funny enough – my husband and I were talking over coffee last night about the subject of memory and misplacing things (both issues with us these days and seemingly more frequent) and in the course of the conversation I mentioned your dilemna. So it was a delightful piece of news to read this and realize there’s always H.O.P.E. ; )

    Btw…my initial thought was to ask if you’d checked the refrigerator. I’ve discovered so many wild and wonderful things in mine – aside from food…lol.

  4. March 12, 2010 4:39 pm

    … and with a sigh of relief I understand again: here is the evidence that things don’t dematerialize (my secret nightmare).

    • March 13, 2010 7:53 am

      Eva, I hope you’re right that they don’t. We’ll keep gathering evidence as reassurance. 😉

  5. March 13, 2010 7:11 pm

    Yay! Thanks goodness you found them Martha.

  6. March 13, 2010 7:43 pm

    Been there; done that!
    Bless you child…
    I haven’t found a “safe place” for ANYTHING yet…but I keep trying! lol~

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

