Skip to content

The Painting Has Changed Again

June 9, 2009

For some unknown reason I decided to post progress pictures of this painting for better or worse. You might be surprised by what I chose to add this time. These small red blobs on the right hand side are paint skins. I was able to place them on the painting without making a commitment and see if they would work. I thought they did, so I’ve committed. Those babies are down to stay.  This is shown with all the glare that normally happens with a glossy finish. A final photo would adjust for glare. I would shoot it outside and if the glare is a problem, I could spray it with hair spray and then remove it after photographing it.


WIP 0609

Amd then . . . you would never recognize the second one. I’m showing that one before and after.

 

Before:

Blue Green

And after:

 

Blue Green 2

There are obviously lots of coats of paint between the “before” and the “after.”

Both paintings are the same size at 16″ square. You could hang them together!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra permalink
    June 9, 2009 6:40 pm

    I absolutely LOVE it – the red is just spot on and so glad that it is there to stay. The color combo really works. And I am so fascinated by the process. I have a work in progress that I hate and was about to put into the trash when I read how you put light modelling paste over the colours you wanted to cover and change, so the canvas has had a reprieve. I’ll try that and see if I can make it work. As it is mainly dark blues I’ll try some red and see what happens.

  2. June 10, 2009 3:40 am

    I love it! I have loved seeing the progress. I think you said before that you put gel inbetween layers of paint? What gel do you use? (If you donn’t mind me asking…)

    • June 10, 2009 9:13 am

      Karita, I do use a lot of gels. And they are determined by the effect I want to get. The most transparent ones give a lot of depth and the more opaque ones also provide texture. My favorite one is Golden self-leveling clear gel. It dries crystal clear and very glossy.

      My second favorite is Golden extra heavy gel matte. It dries translucent but holds its body to give you a lot of texture possibilities. It’s interesting the see through it to the color underneath.

  3. June 10, 2009 10:03 am

    These are wonderful!
    So are they finished now?

    • June 10, 2009 9:23 pm

      Chris, you always know just the right questions to ask. The answer is . . . yes and no. The top one will change again. That’s because this is today and that was yesterday. I think I really love the blue, green and yellow one.

      The red and green one has no place in my body of work, so it has to go, even though I like it a lot. It will be painted over.

  4. sherrill pearson permalink
    June 11, 2009 10:02 am

    Hi Martha,

    Thanks so much for sharing your creative process with us. For novices like me it sure gives us the courage to go on trying.

    Right now I have a 16×16 wrap-around that is confounding me. With each transition it makes, I think – this is it!! – then I turn around twice and poof! – don’t like it. It’s going to have to be hung by industrial chain if I keep it up wth the ‘light’ molding paste. Hahaha…

  5. June 11, 2009 11:14 am

    Sherrill, it can sometimes be discouraging to keep working on something and not have it work out, after you’ve invested a lot of time and energy into it. But I never think of it as time wasted. I always learn something each time.

    Trust me, I have many canvases out in the studio that just never made it, plus with all the texture and gunk on them they got too heavy! They need to go out to the street in a bin.

Trackbacks

  1. The Painting Was Jinxed « An Artist’s Journal

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

