Skip to content

The Painting Was Jinxed

June 23, 2009

Have you ever had that experience? The one that keeps you working for days and perhaps weeks on a painting, and then after investing all those hours into it you have to bite the bullet and cover it up?

Well, I have to confess that it happened to me — yet again. But I never consider those experiences as lost time. They are always learning experiences. And a nice buildup of texture, I might add.

The painting on which I showed several progress shots ended up looking very nice.  But “very nice” was not good enough. I needed it to be able to fit into my Sugar Free Series, and it just would never have worked. So now it is frosted and striped all over. I call it Jelly Stripes, and I call it finished. Since in real life the white area is a translucent white and looks like the glaze on a doughnut, and the colored stripes look like jelly . . . well, you see how I went right down a very gooey path with that thought.

Jelly Stripes

“Jelly Stripes” – From the Sugar Free Series
Acrylic on panel, 16 x 16 x 2″

11 Comments leave one →
  1. sherrill pearson permalink
    June 23, 2009 1:21 pm

    Hi Martha

    Love it! Jeez, I wish I could see these all on the wall under spots at the gallery. I have halogen spots at home and I know what that light does for sparkle.

    This piece looks so fresh and bright and will really sparkle (I’m big on what glitters – so long as I’m not wearing it) within the series.

    I have been checking out how to make thin lines from the acrylic paint bottles. I was in our chain art store and they had three little plastic bottles with different steel tips and wanted $15 for them. Way too expensive.

    I have used my emptied hair dye bottles but the cap breaks and I’m back to square one.

    • June 23, 2009 2:32 pm

      Sherrill, I wish I could see them all on the gallery wall too! Am hoping to do that soon. The gallery has been painting all of their walls.

      I am a big beilever in hair dye bottles. You can buy those in quantity at the discount beauty supply stores!

  2. June 23, 2009 1:21 pm

    I love this Martha, I can taste the sugary fruity glaze already. Wonderful work!

    • June 23, 2009 2:34 pm

      Thanks, Mary! I love the fact that the series is titled Sugar Free, because I try to abstain from all those gooey treats when possible.

  3. June 23, 2009 3:00 pm

    Used a hair dye bottle just today 😉 Also removed overly loaded canvases from four 12×12 stretchers that had more texture (and weight) than inspiration could handle. It’s good to know they aren’t nagging me anymore!

    • June 23, 2009 4:54 pm

      I love it, Karen! I’m very ruthless these days. With a prospective move in my near future, I’m looking to lighten the load.

  4. Sandra permalink
    June 23, 2009 6:45 pm

    My favourite was with the dark blues and green and the red. It is preserved on my computer for eternity. And I got the invaluable tip about using texture to cover up the parts I don’t like and redo. Have done that with a painting that was destined for the trash.

  5. June 24, 2009 4:08 am

    A courageous solution! And it works. Sometimes we have to shake off what clings to our ankles.

  6. sherrill pearson permalink
    June 24, 2009 7:47 am

    That’s brilliant Martha! I have a hair salon supply store I can access. Merci!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

