Skip to content

My New Gelli Plate

October 16, 2012

My Gelli Plate arrived in the mail over the weekend, and this morning I was able to try it out for a little bit. Here are the results of my first experiments. I had a blast and am so glad I decided to order it. It’s even easier than I had imagined, and the possibilities are literally endless. Cleanup is a breeze too. I’ll be heading out to the studio in the early mornings for a while, just to see what ideas I can come up with. I tried a few with stencils, but I tend to enjoy more organic shapes.

The top two were done using string and rubber bands to mask the color.

The third one was made with the use of stencils.

The fourth one was made by placing a coiled piece of yarn on top of the blue color, then another print was pulled after painting gestural strokes in black onto the plate.

The bottom two are the same image:

The first one was a rollup in black, with yarn and rubber bands masking the color. Then it was printed again with some random squiggles of red.

Then the last one was the ghost that resulted after removing the yarn and rubber bands. I think that one is my favorite.

Here is the link to a more detailed tutorial on how to use the Gelli Plate. It is every bit as easy as shown in this video. If you want to invest a few dollars in hours of fun, this will definitely fill the bill.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2012 10:17 pm

    I’ve been wondering about this, so great to read more about your experiences with this product, I am thinking sometime soon I will just buy it.

    • October 18, 2012 6:12 am

      Lynn, I don’t think you’ll be sorry. I got the 6×6 one and will probably go ahead and order the 8×10 at some point. It is just so much fun.

  2. October 16, 2012 10:46 pm

    That’s so cool!

  3. October 17, 2012 1:49 am

    They look great! Those plates are on my wish list too, so I’m excited to see and hear that they work so well. Nice prints!

  4. Anonymous permalink
    October 17, 2012 4:53 pm

    These are really great martha, i particularly love the two top and two bottom ones. especially the two bottom ones. thanks Martha.
    sherrill, montreal

  5. patqu permalink
    October 17, 2012 5:48 pm

    Hi:
    I just ordered the large size from my local stamp store. It looks like so much fun. Thanks for the input.
    patq

  6. October 17, 2012 9:55 pm

    Thank you for sharing! Can this be done on canvas?

    • October 18, 2012 6:38 am

      I don’t know why they couldn’t be done on canvas, partiuclarly if it’s gessoed or painted and fairly smooth. You’ve given me an idea. Why not lay your canvas face up on the work surface, create the printing plate, then lower it down onto the canvas like a rubber stamp? I think that would be interesting.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.