Skip to content

In The Stacks

September 21, 2011

Today’s project is to photograph stacks of things in my studio. I love to look at stacks of paper, canvases, books, magazines, and just about anything else creative one can imagine.

These are some of my papers, most of them hand painted, handmade, weathered, or a combination of each.

And a few of my baby canvases at different stages of completion . . .

If you want more stacked inspiration, go to Seth Apter’s blog post today at The Altered Page for more artists’ stacks. I can never get enough of looking at the things artists like to stack up in their studios. Beautiful eye candy and inspiration too!

I’m headed over to Seth’s blog now to feast my eyes on some other artist’s stacks. I know I’ll be inspired by all of them.

43 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 9:28 am

    Those stacks of papers are calling out to be used. And those canvases are so colorful and fun.

    • September 21, 2011 10:57 am

      Thank you Seth. That’s precisely why I can’t bring myself to ever put them away!

  2. September 21, 2011 11:13 am

    beautiful and very inviting stacks you have there!

    Stack On!
    oxo

  3. September 21, 2011 1:05 pm

    loving your stacks – can’t wait to see what you do with that paper

  4. Heather Campbell permalink
    September 21, 2011 2:17 pm

    I just want to touch all those papers…dont you love the sound they make when you do 🙂

    • September 21, 2011 2:35 pm

      I do, Heather! I love everything about paper. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  5. September 21, 2011 2:44 pm

    great stacks! …and I gotta say, the surface beneath your canvases looks intriguing too!

    • September 21, 2011 11:03 pm

      Thanks Dianne. So nice of you to stop in. Glad you like the table cover. It spent its first life as a shower curtain!

  6. September 21, 2011 2:47 pm

    Awesome stacks Martha! I always love the eye candy that your posts offer and this post inspired me to post a stack of my own on my Art blog. Not sure if I’m too late to join the group on the Altered Page or not but still wanted to share. 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.