Skip to content

Working Inside and Outside

September 20, 2011

Vital Signs - Collage, 5x5"

Today was gray and rainy, and I’m not complaining at all. We’ve finally started getting the rains we needed, starting with the tropical storm that came through here (what – 2 weeks ago now?) which relieved the drought that had plagued our area for the month of August.

Now another nice front with more rain has gone through and re-soaked all the plants and garden beds nicely, which are in perfect condition for cleaning out to prepare for some fall and even winter crops. I plan to have lettuce, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, beets, and some greens. Onions and garlic need to be planted early in October as well. That is looming on the schedule and has to get done. Today I had to go out and at least make a start. I’m in the process of pulling up all the lima bean plants and picking them clean of all remaining pods. It turns out there are quite a few beans that will in turn have to be shelled and frozen or canned, depending on what space I have left in the freezer.

Kale, Broccoli and Cauliflower, Fall 2010

Then for the past three weeks I’ve been working very hard honing my digital painting skills further. I want to become proficient at creating art that looks no different from paint on canvas, printable in large format. This is the wave of the future for the design trade, and since licensing is a big part of my art business, I have to stay on the cutting edge. This has taken my time completely away from the studio most days, and I miss just playing with paint and getting it all over me. I love playing with pixels too, but it’s definitely not the same experience.

I promise to have “show and tell” very soon with some new work from my studio!

The collage above is one I did yesterday when I took a very welcome studio break.

In case you missed this:  Many of my paintings are available in my Etsy shop Colorpoetry and my collages are in my BrushWithImagination shop.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 6:24 am

    Love your “Vital signs” collage – it sort of fits with the rain you mention and your vegetable bed.

    • September 21, 2011 10:56 am

      Thanks Sue! Glad you like the collage. I see what you mean by the fit. Those unconscious things are always fun.

  2. September 22, 2011 12:25 am

    Another lovely piece from you. I need to step up a gear, but at the moment there is too much to do in ‘real life’ to be able to fulfil my artistic potential. I’ll just potter along until I have the time to do it. At least I’m doing something.

    • September 22, 2011 9:57 am

      Well Sassa, fact is I’m not up to second gear right now either. It seems to go that way. It will get better!

  3. brutus permalink
    September 28, 2011 8:07 am

    hi testing

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

