Skip to content

One Person Group Show 2022

February 9, 2022

Here is an updated version of my post from exactly one year ago. Not much has changed. At the end of this post I’ll add a couple of new pieces, just to show I haven’t been completely non-productive.

From February, 2021:

The semi-isolation with this pandemic has done something to change my art process, and I’m not yet sure whether it’s a good or a bad thing.

At first I thought all this solitude would allow me the freedom to explore everything under the sun without concern for the outcome. But with freedom comes a certain amount of paralysis — at least it does for me. I still share some of my experiments on social media, but when I look at them, there’s little rhyme or reason. I keep arriving at the same dead end. There are some botanical sketches, a few little colorful doodle abstracts, some gelli prints, and some collage. Together they feel disjointed and scattered. I am my own one-person group show.

Monotypes, 4×6 inches
Mixed Media Botanical Sketches, 4×5 inches

February 2021, continued:

I have done several commissions over the winter, which make me grateful to my collectors. They included a couple of florals, a winter landscape, and several pet portraits. I’m not sure they count as stepping stones in a new direction. But maybe they are, in a way. I would love to do more pet portraits, but with my own personal stamp on them somehow. Perhaps more vibrant colors? We’ll see. Within the next couple of weeks, spring will be here in all its glory. I was looking through my sketchbook from last spring and summer, and am more than ready to get some color back into my palette.


Update from February 9, 2022 – a few recent artworks. I hope you’ve stayed creative throughout this challenging time. Are you ready for a change? I know I am.

“Changing Seasons” – Mixed media, 6×8 inches
“Eclipse” – Mixed media. 5×7 inches
6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2022 11:02 am

    Martha, I enjoyed seeing your post and browsing through the delicate paintings and mark making that still have your recognizable strength even in their fragility. I think they speak to our times where there is uncertainty combined with an opportunity for deep observation.

    I have so much change happening with moving my gallery spaces this spring to new venues and then there has been such an increased interest in my work this past two years that I have worked harder than ever. It wasn’t what I expected. I thought all the upheaval would lead to basically boarding up shop and calling it quits. But this hasn’t been the result at all. I moved my studio work space home at the beginning of the pandemic and then was, for the most part, open only by appointment and continued to present my work online through social media and my newsletter as I always had…. and it worked! Yes, it has been hard and demanding to always be adjusting to changing public health orders. The isolation, even for a introvert, even though necessary, has been too much for far too long. But my local group of painters continue to meet regularly each week over zoom to talk art and life and when weather and conditions permit, we have plein air painted together. We have been able to show our work together as well in the gallery, even though I would do videos to post online and most of the viewing done on a screen. It has been far from perfect but there hasn’t been down time. I have worked harder than ever, both as an artist and gallery owner. As a result of all these aspects, the sales have been swift and continuous and kept the lights on and the brush to the canvas.

    When I read your update note Martha, I know you are in excellent company. So many of my artist friends have been through and are going through a similar experience. I am reminded that we are all in the same storm but not the same boat. All the elements of our history, our circumstances and our character shape a life experience that is uniquely ours. I like that you are honouring this. I wonder what this year will bring for you? What unexpected creative endeavours might ignite your passion for exploration? Whatever they are, I am going to be pleased to take a look and connect as I have been for going on 12 or is it 13 years?

    Sending warm hugs and a notice to the muse to come knocking on your studio door when you are ready. Or I am guessing you might just show without her and get painting anyway. Whatever you do, it will be just right and perfect for you.

    Terrill 🙂

    • February 14, 2022 2:16 pm

      ” I am reminded that we are all in the same storm but not the same boat. All the elements of our history, our circumstances and our character shape a life experience that is uniquely ours.” Beautifully said, Terrill! Yes, I am showing up regardless. I think Pablo Picasso once said that inspiration exists, but it has to find you working. I truly believe that!

  2. JazzCookie permalink
    February 9, 2022 1:05 pm

    Martha – I enjoyed reading this and found it comforting as I, too, hit a time early this year when nothing seemed to be working – including me! I posted it on my Art and Tulips site and heard from many other artists in the same boat, or at least in another little boat. We all know that the art spirit doesn’t really die, but it has surely morphed and struggled through the pandemic. I look forward to seeing whatever comes next for you. And something will!
    All best, Molly Cook, artulips.wordpress.com

    • February 14, 2022 2:12 pm

      Molly, thank you for those wise words. All true! Sometimes the isolation we’ve had during this pandemic is a positive thing, but for some it can be a real struggle. I think I’ve decided to just go with it and let ideas and inspiration percolate in their own time.

  3. Angela Taylor permalink
    February 14, 2022 12:39 pm

    Wonderful works Martha! Thanks for sharing them my friend. 🙂 Happy Valentines Day!!! 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.