Skip to content

Begin at the Beginning

March 6, 2017

Time spent in the studio has been productive over the past couple of weeks. It’s been nice exploring the paints again, indulging myself in straight out-of-the-tube colors. For some reason, right now it doesn’t feel like the time to be timid or subtle.

It’s true that just showing up for work eventually gets some momentum going, as trite as that sounds. Why does it take so long to re-learn that? We don’t have to wait for inspiration to strike us in order to just begin at the beginning. But I’m finding out something else about just being in the studio, with the materials all laid out, the lighting just right, and the music playing. The more time I spend doing my work, the more I begin to look forward to the experience. I don’t think it’s as much about the results as it is about just being in one’s own space, surrounded by the things that provide inspiration. The work builds on itself. Soon a time comes when I wake up in the morning thinking about a work in progress — sometimes after dreaming about it — and how I might resolve it. I’m not quite there yet, but I’m getting close.

This new one is titled “Awake.”

Awake Sm

The one on my easel at the moment is 24 x 48 inches. Right now it’s just colors, but before long it will tell me what it wants to be, or where it wants to go from here. I think it’s almost finished. In the spirit of exuberant color, the only tweak I would possibly make is to intensify the contrasts a little bit more. We’ll see.

Not Just White Noise Sm

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    March 6, 2017 12:34 pm

    I too found painting to be healing. There were some mornings when I thought I looked forward to nothing, that a new car off paint to explore made a difference. It sounds silly to those who have not been there. But I have, and I totally get it.

  2. March 6, 2017 1:01 pm

    So good to get a glimpse inside your studio and realizing that your time there is helping to produce some terrific work. I particularly like ‘Awake’. Turn up the music, and stay lost. 🙂

  3. cyndy goldman permalink
    March 6, 2017 1:38 pm

    Absolutely. Showing up & staying long enough to let it happen. After time away, life changes (in my case), subtle things change in working. These look great, M!

    • March 6, 2017 3:56 pm

      Yes, Cyndy! Isn’t it interesting how things keep cooking underneath, resulting in small, surprising changes, when we start again? That is one of the most magical things. Thanks!

  4. JoAnn Martin permalink
    March 6, 2017 2:45 pm

    “We don’t have to wait for inspiration to strike us in order to just begin at the beginning.”
    May I borrow this to put on my mirror?

  5. March 6, 2017 4:10 pm

    That is a fitting inspirational note. I love both of these.i know you feelThey need more bUT in my eye they look done. Happy , festive, cleansing.

    • March 7, 2017 7:50 am

      Thanks for those encouraging words, Pat! I know the first one is finished. I added a few little touches to the second one yesterday after writing this, but it’s not changed really.

  6. March 7, 2017 4:22 am

    I love these Martha. Would it be ok with you for me to put them on my Pinterest ‘Art’ board?

    • March 7, 2017 7:51 am

      By all means, Wild Daffodil! I’d be honored. Thank you!

      • March 7, 2017 7:54 am

        Lovely, thank you – I’d like to work on some similar colour combinations, just love those flashes of turquoise.

      • March 7, 2017 9:59 am

        You should definitely go for it! Which gives me an idea for a new blog post. How I sometimes choose my color combinations by looking at randomly deposited paints on a disposable plastic plate, or perhaps a piece of freezer paper that once covered my table! 🙂

      • March 8, 2017 1:55 am

        I look forward to that blog post Martha. Warm wishes, Sandra

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.