Skip to content

A Much-Needed Art Break

November 19, 2014
Slow Dance - Collage, 6x8 inches

Slow Dance – Collage, 6×8 inches

I’ve missed all of you. I hope you are staying creative (and staying warm if you live anywhere that’s been affected by this frigid weather.) I know my Florida friends are gloating just a little right now, am I right?

I came across something today on facebook that I absolutely had to share with my readers. It comes from Richard Diebenkorn’s writings, shared by artist Audrey Phillips. It spoke to me deeply, and rings true for me as an artist. The original source of the graphic was a blog that you also might enjoy, Brain Pickings, which is full of even more inspiration for creative people. See if you think these notes apply to your work:

diebenkorn_painting2I love all of these reminders, but can identify most with #2:

“the pretty, initial position which falls short of completeness is not to be valued

— except as a stimulus for further moves.”

Reading the list again, I notice that #4 is a close follow-up to #2.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been seduced by the “pretty, initial position.” Wanting to call it a painting and stop. But prettiness can be deceiving.

Do you have a favorite statement from this list?

The collage above is part of a continuing series using sketched and painted loops and lines on a variety of papers.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2014 2:36 am

    #2 and #4 are linked for me as well. Often, the finished piece bears little or no resemblance to the idea I started with!

  2. November 20, 2014 5:45 am

    Welcome back Martha! Think I can identify with several on your list. Perhaps 4 most strongly.

    • November 20, 2014 1:37 pm

      Thanks for showing up, Bee! So nice to see you. I love that he gives us permission just to keep on keeping on, without fear or worry about how we get there.

  3. November 20, 2014 9:34 am

    Really enjoyed this posting. In fact going to print off and put in studio as well as frig for awhile. Several apply to me. I find #2 particularly is something I have to remind myself of when working on a piece. Lately getting out to the Studio has been hard to do on any regularity. I really love the colors and hues and movement of this piece. I understand, but do miss your Blogs. So, this was really an inspiration.

  4. December 21, 2014 3:29 pm

    A great list for sure! 2,3, and 9 speak most clearly to me.

    • December 21, 2014 9:05 pm

      Thank you for visiting, Sharmon, and thanks for your comments and feedback. Glad you could identify with the list!

  5. January 1, 2015 4:55 pm

    Reblogged this on Ellipsis and commented:
    A list on approaching art; many good points!

  6. April 1, 2015 9:51 am

    Great post. I love the Richard Diebenkorn list, it’s very true and I love little notes like that. I really enjoyed reading this post! Short but sweet!

    http://www.yelp.com/biz/diana-hobson-fine-art-venice

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

