Skip to content

Inspiration for Collage Papers

November 19, 2013

When things seem to get a little stagnant, I like to thumb through my favorite art books or browse online videos for inspiration. When I find links that inspire me, I like to share them. I was excited to find this one by Claudine Hellmuth demonstrating the use of metal polish and magazine pages to create your own collage papers. I love this. I knew about this technique, but had never tried it nor seen it demonstrated. Sometimes I have too be shown.

The following video deals with fabric design and starts in the middle of the demonstration, so the information isn’t complete. You can probably fill in the blanks. But nevertheless I like what’s happening to this piece of cloth:

Here Anne Bagby demonstrates how she uses cut paper stripes from hand painted and printed paper in her collage designs:

And finally, I love the following video by Linda Germain, which shows just how simple and Zen-like the gelatin print process can be. Notice that she uses the exact same collection of homemade materials over and over, with a different result every time. Each application of paint and placement of the masking materials, or stencils, gives you two prints — a positive and a negative. This is my go-to process for making collage papers. I use a gelli plate rather than the traditional gelatin plate.

I hope you’re inspired too.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2013 9:58 am

    I am inspired! These look like fun! Thank you.

  2. November 19, 2013 10:51 am

    Thanks for introducing me to Anne Bagby. She is quite inspiring!

  3. November 19, 2013 11:26 am

    What a collage of inspiration Martha! Thank you 🙂 I love paper and collage but rarely ever do anything with it myself. Oh the odd vision exercise but not art. Your work in collage always fascinates and inspires so I add your blog to this collection as well.

    • November 19, 2013 4:22 pm

      Terrill, thank you! I know you are very focused on your painting and does it ever show! Your work just gets better and better. Thanks for your kind words.

  4. Annette Bush permalink
    November 19, 2013 11:37 am

    Nice stuff today, Martha. Will follow links when I get a minute. Got new wiring and tile grouting going on today!

    Annette

    Sent from my iPhone

    • November 19, 2013 4:24 pm

      Oh joy, Annette! You’d better hold off until you can play with your art. It might inspire you so much you’ll be totally frustrated! I know you’re going to enjoy your house improvements, and that there’ll be time for art later.

  5. November 21, 2013 10:30 am

    Have you done the strip method with magazine photos I also use the strip method with my own art paper from left over projects . amazing and also have you used Brillo no soap on the photos to take off the ink put a rubbing plate underneath the photo… Thanks for the inspiration I have always wanted to do the polish technique and wanted to try the gel plate. Joy

    • November 21, 2013 2:44 pm

      Joy, thanks for all the tips! I haven’t done the strip method. But I guarantee you I’m going to be playing with that. And I knew there must be another way of rubbing off magazine ink. Was going to look around for whatever I had. I’ll bet toothpaste would work too, with a little rinsing afterward! 🙂

    • November 21, 2013 3:06 pm

      Joy, thank you for commenting so I could go see your blog. So glad to discover you and your work. I watched your class video and I must say you have a wonderful enthusiasm for what you’re doing and sharing. I’ve just now “liked” your facebook page.

  6. Tina permalink
    November 21, 2013 10:53 am

    These were some very inspiring links, thanks for sharing!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

