Skip to content

Silence, Triptych

January 21, 2011

Here is an gallery installation shot of the big triptych that I talked about in yesterday’s blog. This triptych is 48 x 84 inches overall. It’s fun to think that it was based on a little digital study.

This was a solo show at Ozmosis Gallery in Bethesda, MD, now closed. We had a good run while it lasted.

More pictures from the show:

I haven’t done any of these Color Field style paintings for about the past two years. But I do still have several of them in my studio inventory.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    January 21, 2011 3:47 pm

    Martha, the colour field paintings are wonderful. I know it’s nice to sell but sometimes it’s even nicer to have them back in inventory for a while for inspiration or just the absolute pleasure of enjoying them again. Thanks for sharing the pics.

    Has all your snow melted and runaway yet? You seemed to enjoy the sight of it so much! I know that’s because you don’t get it often, but, if you miss it I’d be more than happy to try sending you some of ours! Terry

    • January 21, 2011 4:24 pm

      Thank you, Terry. It is nice to have them around. I could never afford them if I had to buy them! 🙂 I have sold quite a few of them, and others are earning their keep as giclees. So that’s nice.

      Yes, the snow melted. I think I now know how much is enough. About a week’s worth!

  2. Sandra permalink
    January 21, 2011 4:35 pm

    WOW! These paintings look wonderful, especially the large triptych. Do you think you will do more Colour Field paintings one day? These are just so cool.

    • January 21, 2011 4:45 pm

      Thank you, Sandra! Yes, I do think about doing more. My closest artist friends tell me I shouldn’t think about whether or not I can sell them, just paint. It’s probably good advice.

  3. January 21, 2011 4:48 pm

    These are stunning Martha! I liked them in yesterday’s blog but love them with a bit more context to show them off.

    • January 21, 2011 5:11 pm

      So glad you like them, Terrill. Sometimes I just have to dust off the old pictures and take a trip down memory lane.

  4. January 22, 2011 11:07 am

    Most of the time on the blogs we see cropped shots of paintings. It is great to see these beautiful works hung. So good to see the actual scale of these. The triptych is amazing!

    • January 22, 2011 1:40 pm

      Thank you, Seth! Yes you’re right – it’s sometimes difficult to visualize a painting just from a cropped photo. I should haul out more installation shots and show them sometime.

  5. January 22, 2011 6:42 pm

    Martha , Have you been painting for “forever?” Excuse the term “forever”…..what I mean is …..since you were an adult. I am hitting a high frustration level. I seem to be spinning wheels. True, I need instruction but have a hard time finding a “fit.” I do some work, revisit it months later and can see what I “do” incorrect but just can’t seem to change my pattern. Painting is isolated and the internet has opened up my world of whats possible but I continually strive to get better and it seems so slow. I am trying to find the unique method of painting that just seems to fit for me ……… otherwise, find my way of painting but I’m so impatient. Yes, I know that is the worse thing that I can do. How do you “quiet” your mind so that you can do the best work you can for you at this particular time and palce? cheers, Karin Lynn

    • January 24, 2011 9:24 am

      Thanks for sharing your feelings about this, Karin Lynn – my thoughts will be coming in a blog post. These are issues confronted by every artist, and they deserve wider discussion. I will be sharing my observations today (January 24th.)

  6. Nancy permalink
    January 22, 2011 11:15 pm

    Wow, Martha. Amazing, delicious and just spectacular. Definately make a statement! the triptych is glorious on the wall…

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

