Skip to content

“By Chance” – Collage

November 10, 2010
tags:

This is the last of the series of collages that I created last week. I want to do more, of course. But today I spent all of my studio time on the computer.

Here’s a peek at some of the antique images I’ve been scanning. The two books I’m currently working from are dated 1907 and 1927!

I didn’t bother to use the scanner for the medical manual. It was so heavy and is 6″ thick, and I didn’t want to destroy the book in order to scan them. So I used my camera with a macro lens and got some really great images.

Amazingly, this book has pop-up color illustrations! Aren’t these fun? These are just a few of the incredible images.

And here is the first of my bird sheets from the bird encyclopedia.

I can’t wait to use some of these in my own collages. I also want to make high-resolution images of them available as downloads.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 11:25 pm

    These are great – so much detail and very interesting. I’d love to see what you do with them.

  2. November 12, 2010 11:40 am

    Yes indeed, Fadwa! I can’t wait to get going on them. Will definitely do a “show and tell.”

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

