Skip to content

Blueberry Something

May 4, 2009

Bet you didn’t think I had any more of  those paintings in crazy colors. This one is built up to a ridiculous depth, to the extent that it took about a week to dry so that I could photograph it. It never made it to the gallery because it was still drying. But that’s OK, they’ll need it later.

I titled it “Blueberry Gummies” but of course these shapes are not exactly like gummies.  Maybe more like squishy frozen blueberries in a muffin batter that’s become colored by the juice. 

blueberry-gummies-sm-3d

“Blueberry Gummies” – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2″

This series was inspired by Michael Murphy Gallery. They thought it might be fun to have a room full of these paintings in fun, bright colors. The idea is that we want people to be able to picture them even in their kids’ rooms. I enthusiastically welcomed the idea, because you know how I love color!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 12:38 pm

    All these sweet confections would be great on a wall. But somehow I think the lighted up screen from behind can’t be doing them justice.

  2. May 4, 2009 12:41 pm

    Yes, I think you’re right, Diane. That’s one problem, and the other is that I shot this one outside. Even though it was filtered light, it got rid of all the darks, and there are some really dark blues here and there.

  3. May 4, 2009 5:55 pm

    I love the texture, Martha, but of course I’ve got texture on the brain these days! I love the idea of hanging brightly colored abstracts in a child’s room – who says their decor must only include cute animals or alphabets? A child’s imagination is perfect to enjoy an uplifting abstract like this – like all of your work.

    • May 5, 2009 6:01 am

      I can see that, Jessica! Psst! Everyone stop right now and go check out what Jessica just did!

  4. May 5, 2009 10:26 am

    Mmmmm, blueberries, my favorite.
    What a clever idea–fun bright paintings for a child’s room. It’s another great way promote your work, as well as (perhaps indirectly) encourage art appreciation among children.
    Your food/candy paintings would work so well in a child’s room, kitchen, and public places such as restaurants, bakeries, children’s hospitals, cafes…the possibilities are nearly endless. (You can see where my mind is lately–on marketing!)

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

