Skip to content

Varying the Grid

January 5, 2010

Here are current progress pictures of the two 30″ square panels. The one that I showed yesterday is first, showing how I’ve gotten rid of some of the divisions that had created nine squares.

I scraped and sanded back into the surface in places to reveal some of the original random marks and in the process creating more marks. I’ve emphasized collage elements in three places by changing their color, and added a strip of black and white along one edge.

The white passage with the random scribbles across it will be toned down to integrate it more into its surroundings. I will likely antique it with some black and smudge it around the edges. We’ll see.

I think I like this one now, but won’t know until I build up the surface with gels and texture. They always greatly enhance what is already there.

The second one reached this current stage rather fast, right after I photographed the basic grid that I had started with. I really like it a lot as is, but know it isn’t quite “finished.”  Still pondering any next moves.

In both of these, I don’t want to reach a stage where they will seem overworked or too slick and contrived.

Can you tell I’m bringing in some of the influences from my industrial photo shoots back in the fall? They start here, with more in subsequent posts.

In fact, this is a closeup of the piece of collaged newspaper at the top of the first painting. The partial headline reads “. . . Clean up Industrial Park”

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 3:37 pm

    Sweet sharing of your creative process. I enjoyed how you reveal your thinking as you go.

    • January 5, 2010 6:50 pm

      So happy you found your way here to comment! Thanks so much. I enourage all readers to check out your blog. Beautiful writing!!

  2. January 5, 2010 4:08 pm

    OOOH! Martha! I’m LOVING where these are going!

  3. January 5, 2010 6:46 pm

    Yes! The nine-block composition locked you in way too much. You’re much too organic for that…
    there is excellent balance with variety now…
    Create On, girlfriend!

    • January 5, 2010 6:57 pm

      Thanks for that, DJ. I agree with you that the strict grid was too confining for me. I feel better! Free!!

  4. January 5, 2010 6:50 pm

    Martha – I Love the 2nd one and it’s perfect to me! Great composition and wonderful interest! Look forward to tomorrow! c

    • January 6, 2010 3:48 am

      Hmmm, Cyndy. I like it too. It’s definitely reached a point at which I am afraid to do anything else. With a little nudging from you I might bless it and move on. Thanks!

  5. January 6, 2010 6:01 am

    The industrial influence is such a strong element in this work. I really like both pieces, but the second one just wows me! The reason for that is its simpler palette and balance of “shapes” (strong central area, for lack of a better description…and the two smaller collaged areas..) I hope I’m making sense…still drinking my a.m. coffee and probably not awake enough to write a sensible comment, ha!

    • January 6, 2010 8:17 am

      Stephanie, thank you for that. You sound awake to me! I’m going to take what you and Cyndy have said as confirmation that I can leave that second one alone (except for the transparent gels to come.) My husband immediately liked that one too, and said I should call it finished. He volunteered that, as I don’t usually ask him for his opinion. 😉

  6. January 6, 2010 9:24 am

    LOVE!

    • January 6, 2010 9:31 am

      That does it! They’re a wrap!!! Thank you, John.

      (Will post after final glazing and gelling.)

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.