Skip to content

Featured in The Altered Page

July 5, 2011

I’m honored to again be part of Seth Apter’s regular feature The Pulse in his wonderful blog The Altered Page. Yesterday I was featured in Style File, Chapter 3 in which he asked artists to describe their own style.

I encourage you to read through all of Seth’s most recent posts showcasing the inventive styles of an impressive gathering of inspiring artists.

Free Eggplant

This is such pretty eggplant, and the plants themselves are huge. I planted three, and as soon as it became apparent that we were going to be inundated with eggplant, I yanked out one of them, so now we have two plants. This variety is Ping Tung from Taiwan. It’s an heirloom seed that I tried for the first time ever. We love eggplant, and just the other night I made eggplant parmagiana. Yum!

Even with two plants we have a lot more eggplant than we need. Call me and I’ll be glad to bring over some.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 11:26 pm

    If only it were that easy. I live so far away. I have to admit your parmagiana looks delicious

  2. July 5, 2011 11:36 pm

    So happy you are a part of The Pulse and I thank you for helping to spread the word!!

    • July 8, 2011 4:14 pm

      I’ve been to your extremely inspiring site before, Seth, and visited again after Martha’s post. Beautiful! Reading all those artists’ minds was fantastic — made me feel at home but not alone! All great reading. Thanks.

  3. Terry permalink
    July 5, 2011 11:41 pm

    Well Martha, eggplant deliveries???? Seems you’ll do anything to get into our pool!!!
    We’ll be watching for you. Terry

    PS Those eggplants look beautiful

  4. Sandra permalink
    July 6, 2011 1:49 am

    Oh Martha if only you could bring one over here! They look superb, I love eggplant, and of course it is out of season here at present. I went out to one of our country towns today to see an exhibition of works by a number of ChCh artists – we have lost all our gallery space, but initiatives are springing up on the outskirts of the city and this was one. A number of very varied works, some earthquake themed, some not. A number have sold (strangely enough they were mainly ones I was less keen on and the ones I really liked are unsold at this time). Two very nice coloured abstracts which I felt validated what I am trying to do. It was a warm day for middle of winter and the drive out in the country towards the snow-clad Southern Alps really therapeutic.

  5. July 6, 2011 7:07 am

    I love Seth’s blog and am also excited to be included in this years’ edition of The Pulse. :0)

    Mmmmmm eggplant, yum.

  6. artepicurean permalink
    July 6, 2011 9:18 pm

    Great work! I too am an abstract painter – and blog about painting and food. I was so surprised to see your post – art and eggplant – brillant work (both). Check out http://www.artepicurean.blogspot.com Perhaps you would consider being a guest blogger?

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.