Skip to content

Unfinished Business

October 23, 2017

My studio is full of unfinished work at the moment. Several canvases from the workshop I attended need to either be resolved into paintings, or started over. And one table still has a few of the little cradled panels waiting for me to get back to them.

And over there on another table is a stack of new collages that I need to list in my Etsy shop, otherwise nobody will know they are available. I wonder which ones I haven’t shown you. Here are a few:

Underneath – collage, 4×4 inches, mounted on 5×5-inch backing

Tangle – collage, 4×4 inches, mounted on 5×5-inch backing

Meandering – collage, 4×4 inches, mounted on 5×5-inch backing

The biggest interruption in my studio time has been a new class I’m teaching every two weeks. I hope the time demand will level off as we get into the flow of things. The hardest part has been the initial planning, but there is a wonderful advantage — in searching for ideas, it inspires me to try new things. Now I just have to put some of them into action in my own work.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2017 7:51 am

    Martha, so happy to see you still making “unfinished business!” I love the feeling of these pieces.
    Annette

  2. October 23, 2017 9:10 am

    I envy your productivity! These pieces are lovely!

  3. October 23, 2017 12:50 pm

    Always good to have a few ideas anchored on unfinished canvases I think Martha. I have always wished I could do this. Instead, I write a list of ideas and then start and complete one and up to three paintings, if they are closely related, at one time. It is my passion for working wet into wet that keeps me sorted in this manner. I hear you about the teaching too. I have a full in person 10 week oil painting class and an online pilot of the same length running this fall. With the gallery still open three days a weekend until mid November, I am squeezing the daylight hours for painting time wherever I can. But we can do these multiple things and I would love to be a student of yours learning about collage and mix media, not to do it so much but to understand how it is done. I am always curious because though I LOVE your results yet my head starts to hurt if I try and figure out how you got there! This puzzle has kept me coming back to your posts for many years and enjoying every visit. 🙂

    • October 23, 2017 1:40 pm

      Terrill, how I wish we could be students in each other’s classes. I think it does stretch the imagination to do something unfamiliar, even if we return to the same style and media that we started with. I often long to paint outdoors. We have some beautiful painting sites here. My 83-year-old sister remembered that we did this together as young women, so a few months ago she bought each of us a pochade box. We actually went out on the river bank and painted for a little while one day. It was hot and windy, and we tired quickly. We’ve promised each other we’ll get out there again while it’s still warm enough, and there is still color on the trees. A special time for the 2 of us.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

