Skip to content

Busy August

August 28, 2017

Isn’t August supposed to be a slow, lazy month? Nothing slow or lazy about August here. A busy studio, lots of time working on and tweaking my website, attending a three-day painting workshop, becoming a new artist in a beautiful gallery, two sets of house guests in the span of a week, and rehearsing with the church choir over a period of weeks, culminating in a combined 6-choir performance yesterday, after an all-day final rehearsal on Saturday. The music was spectacular with around 100 blended voices, and so much fun preparing for, that I didn’t want it to end.

I will begin with the painting workshop with David M. Kessler at the Kennedy-Douglass Center for the Arts. Lots of great brushing up (pun intended) on color, value, and composition, as well as some new things to think about regarding paint mixing and application. The experience of working with a roomful of other artists is always a treat as well. Here are some highlights.

One of my experiments, Day Two, I think

 

This building at the Arts Center is a beautiful and spacious old home. The workshop took up three adjoining rooms.

 

My new friend Glenda Sartain working on a few value studies

 

This is another one of my color experiments, Day Two

 

Our instructor, David M. Kessler – We told him he should get a high-resolution image of that apron and get it printed onto more aprons and sell them. (by the way, on the wall behind David’s painting is one of my paintings from the Center’s permanent collection. A nice surprise.)

Working and collaborating — another of my paintings on the wall!

We had every level of artist experience in the workshop. But somehow, when in the midst of a workshop or class, trying to absorb the concepts being focused on, everybody tends to feel like a beginner. They are a great equalizer.

I am eternally grateful to Glenda Sartain for telling me about Kathleen’s Fine Art and Interiors, the gallery where her art is sold. She urged me to contact the gallery. Because of all the things I’d been juggling since the workshop, I had procrastinated, and she ended up calling me. As a result, I got hold of the gallery, made an appointment, and took some paintings over there, which they immediately took on consignment. They were delightful, and I know I’m going to enjoy my association with them.

I hope you’re planning an artful week. If so, tell me about it in the comments. It’s good to touch base with you all.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2017 4:25 pm

    I am so glad you enjoyed your workshop. I so enjoy them for the socialization, learning and creativity. I love the purple painting, but am also drawn to the red one.
    I was glad to hear you prodded yourself to call the gallery, take your work and then have them accept you. But of course they did. You are so talented Martha.

    • August 28, 2017 5:15 pm

      Thank you Pat for your continued encouragement. I had begun to think maybe I should just wind down the painting. This has been just what I needed. I can see a way forward now.

  2. August 28, 2017 4:37 pm

    Congratulations on all those wonderful things happening this month. Your pictures of the workshop makes me eager to find one similar here in the UK – I always find it a joy to learn and work with others.
    The singing sounds just wonderful!
    I have been creating some mandalas and Silliness with shells, I expect there will be more made this week: https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2017/08/28/monday-mandala/

  3. Anonymous permalink
    August 28, 2017 6:17 pm

    Love the pictures of the workshop. Your red value study especially caught my eye.

  4. August 29, 2017 4:25 am

    House-guests, workshop, choir = Busy Busy! Loved the pictures, and David’s apron. The choir sounds wonderful
    My news: Following months of making huge installation of 3 tower blocks, art is taking a rest whilst writing takes precedence. The tower-block exhibition coincided with the ghastly tower-block fire in London – like watching 9/11 all over again. Now the dreadful floods in Houston!
    All so sad. We bury our heads in the arts!

    • August 29, 2017 6:28 am

      Bury our heads to lift our spirits and the spirits of others with our creations. 😉 ❤

    • August 29, 2017 12:00 pm

      Alfbet, I went to your blog and read some of your wonderful writings. I would love to see what you did with the tower blocks. Will there be pictures?? Yes, the arts can save our sanity and our hearts.

  5. August 29, 2017 7:03 am

    Martha, this is a super dsscription of your week — perfect for inspiring everyone of your readers! Annette

    • August 29, 2017 11:59 am

      Glad to hear that, Annette! I know I needed some inspiration. Feeling energized and ready now!

  6. September 1, 2017 9:04 am

    Glad you enjoyed David Kessler’s workshop. I took it several weeks ago in Huntsville. So much fun, and I’m trying to apply some of the class to a new fabric piece.

    • September 1, 2017 3:04 pm

      That’s wonderful, Connie! I did enjoy it so much, and know I’ll be digesting it for quite a while.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

