Skip to content

A Most Excellent Adventure

July 26, 2017

Wow — so that happened. I went to Alaska and attended my grandson’s beach wedding. For an old girl with a bum knee, this was quite physically challenging. No, not hiking in the wilderness. Just staying in a 2nd floor walkup motel and walking daily with family to downtown shops, attractions, and restaurants, and then the slog back up those steps at the end of every day. Or twice some days.

But in spite of the challenges, the experience was just unspeakably beautiful and awe-inspiring. The wedding party and a larger group of family and friends stayed at a church camp and lodge outside of town, and those of us who stayed in town spent a lot of time out there, where all the celebrations were happening. This was about a 30-mile wilderness drive, along which you could see literal flocks of bald eagles waiting for salmon to come in with the rising tide, and the occasional bear along the road. I had some trepidation about visiting the bathrooms along the wooded path, imagining bears behind every tree. I sang and talked loudly to myself, which I am sure was enough to scare any bears away.

The little town of Juneau is glorious, even right in the middle of town, as it is surrounded by beautiful snow-capped mountains. We spent a day whale watching, and my best photos were from the boat.

Here is the most important part — the wedding.

It was cloudy and chilly, but the rain had stopped. The beach where they are standing is always muddy, because of the receding tide. I love that some of the bridesmaids wore rain boots. My son officiated — partially hidden in this picture.

Here is flower girl Laurel, in her red raincoat and boots. To the left is my great-granddaughter Alexa, another flower girl. There were three. Here’s Lexi:

My 8-year-old granddaughter Piper was in charge of getting the flower girls to walk in the general direction of the wedding party, with varying degrees of success.

 

So many pictures, so little time to share them all! Here is my favorite one from the whale watching trip. These are two of my grandchildren on the boat.

I loved meeting so many new friends and members of the bride’s family. Just a wonderful group of people.

The rest of my Juneau pictures are in my flickr album here.

If you look closely at the water in some of them, you might see a humpback whale just breaking the surface. I wasn’t lucky enough to get more than that.

So all in all, it was an excellent adventure.

Art next time, I promise.

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2017 11:18 am

    It looks like a grand trip Martha and one that will feed your being for years to come. Art needs these as much as it does creative materials. So no worries about – art next time! 🙂

  2. July 26, 2017 11:37 am

    Oh what a truly WONDERFUL wedding! Loved the pictures and descriptions. Piper clearly had her work cut out, rounding up the little people. Thanks so much – I felt I was almost there!
    Gilly Metcalfe (Blackbrook Farm in Kent, UK)

  3. July 26, 2017 11:44 am

    Martha – what a truly WONDERFUL wedding! Thanks so much for sharing – I almost felt I was there! Loved the pictures, and Piper certainly had her work cut out with rounding up the little people. I tried to post a comment, but don’t think I succeeded, so again, a big THANK YOU! Gilly. PS Do hope the knee is recovering !!!? Sent from Mail for Windows 10

    • July 26, 2017 3:53 pm

      Thank you, Gilly. Yes, they both came through. The wedding was so touching and tearful (on the part of everyone!) that the flower girls brought very much needed comic relief.

  4. July 26, 2017 3:34 pm

    Wow! I love all the photos on flickr! You have a lovely family. Glad you enjoyed your trip!

  5. Marjorie permalink
    July 26, 2017 4:07 pm

    Dear Martha, what a special time. I loved seeing your beautiful photographs and send best wishes to your newlyweds. The wedding looked moving and fun at one and the same time. Thank you for sharing your special experience…..not so sure about the bears, though!!

    • July 26, 2017 4:30 pm

      I know, Marjorie. I love bears, but at a great distance! The wedding was just the best one I’ve ever attended, with apologies to all my kids and other grandkids.

  6. Sandra Kennedy permalink
    July 26, 2017 5:26 pm

    Martha thank-you so much for sharing this special time. What a lovely family you have, so enjoyed seeing the little ones, and Piper is gorgeous. I did feel sorry for the bridesmaids though, I think I would have frozen in those dresses! I am off to Canada in about six weeks and will be joining a small group for a whales and bears experience – love bears so hope to see lots, but at a safe distance!

    • July 27, 2017 9:37 am

      Thanks, Sandra. Yes, those bridesmaids were shivering! I actually was too, and I had on some sleeves. Your upcoming Canada trip sounds fantastic. I hope you have a wonderful time!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

