Skip to content

Simple Surprises

June 7, 2017

It’s been a beautiful few days in and around the studio. The summer temps haven’t closed us in yet, and the house is open to the outside air, gently stirred by a silent ceiling fan. I’ve surrounded myself with music most days, with minimal intrusion of world events. This is my therapy, a lifeline, a time to be open to new ways of seeing.

Simple surprises are everywhere, like the little patch of wildflowers that I planted early last spring. They were mowed down with the grass late in the season, and I had forgotten all about them. But this spring they started re-seeding, and I’m now being gifted with new flowers that didn’t bloom the first time. There are many, many Black-eyed Susans, Lance Leaf Coreopsis, and a bunch of other tickseed varieties as well. And in the little bed closer to the house are my daylilies.

Fun and magical things are happening inside the studio too. I thought it would be a good time to play with the gelli plate for a little while, and then to find some surprises for collage in my paper stash.

This is a collection of circles and squares, punched out of magazine pages. I love spreading them out, in the same way we all used to do with our grandmothers’ jars of buttons . . .

 

. . . and here are some of the gelli prints:

Don’t you love surprises?

 

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    June 7, 2017 7:38 am

    what a wonderful way to start a day ….with a martha blog!

    • June 7, 2017 7:50 am

      And if this anonymous person is who I think she is, it’s a wonderful way to start the day for sure (speaking of surprises!)

  2. June 7, 2017 7:54 am

    As I read your blog posts I feel like I am working alongside you. A good feeling!

  3. Annette permalink
    June 7, 2017 8:50 am

    Martha, I don’t know which is more exciting – your wildflowers or your collage papers! Both have cool shapes and colors. Enjoy your cool air days, hot air is on it’s way

    • June 7, 2017 9:01 am

      Well Annette, I don’t either, to tell you the truth! I know, there have been some really hot and muggy days in between, and I know the heat is coming. But today!! Sunny, breezy, high of 81 . . . couldn’t ask for better!

  4. patqu permalink
    June 7, 2017 9:44 am

    I would like to come paint n your garden. What fun you are having.i see you have many brayersto share. 🙃

  5. patqu permalink
    June 7, 2017 9:45 am

    Love the outcome of art papers.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

