Skip to content

A Stroll Through the Studio and a Work in Progress

March 29, 2017

Strolling through the studio this morning, getting inspired to start another painting session. Thinking about some small works to keep the momentum going. Sometimes it’s good to work small just to stay loose. But not yet. First I want to work on the latest painting in progress, which I showed in a previous post. I have unfortunately let it get away from me just a little, and I now need to bring back some of the light, air and space.

Here is the current state. I like it when I look at it as is, but I like the earlier pictures better.

 

Here’s a little studio inspiration. Have a wonderful day!

 

 

 

 

Note: For a look at all works currently for sale, please visit my Etsy shop. I’ve combined all of my paintings and collage into one place.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2017 11:20 am

    This is such a delightful blog and post. I am a beginner (very much a beginner) at watercolor. Mostly, I’m a writer. I’m wondering if you find it difficult to get back to something, as you mention, when you’ve been away from a work in progress. I have difficulty with this in writing. I think the answer, for me, is to keep the momentum going daily, but that is difficult sometimes, too!

    • March 29, 2017 11:34 am

      Thank you for those encouraging words, Valorie! I absolutely agree that all serious creative pursuits require showing up every day, no matter what. I find that when “life” gets in the way of art, the flow is interrupted and it’s harder to find again.

      I love your blog, and I love Wendell Berry as well.

  2. Barbara Michel permalink
    March 29, 2017 6:50 pm

    Martha, I’ve enjoyed your blog and work for awhile now. I need to tell you that you are an inspiration to me! I know that you’ve recently lost your husband, and it is truly wonderful to see you finding your flow again and also hopefully healing your heart and soul in the process! I am a floundering mixed media artist myself, not seeming to overcome all my life interruptions to find my way back to the studio – and my husband is battling advanced metastatic cancer – but your blog gives me hope. Thank you so much!

    • March 30, 2017 8:23 am

      Barbara, I’m so sorry you and your husband are going through this. Try to stay strong. I know it’s almost unbearable, but just make sure you take care of yourself too. Your art will be waiting for you when the time is right. Sending love and light.

  3. Sandra Kennedy permalink
    March 29, 2017 8:33 pm

    While I liked the earlier versions I love this version as I can see it as an abstract landscape, and in my favourite colours! I shall be very interested to see where you take it (or it takes you?) next.

    • March 30, 2017 8:25 am

      Sandra, it’s so strange having two versions of the same painting staring back at me. I’m planning to add back some white in the white places from before, which I had erased with orange. Then I also want to see more violets here and there. Stay tuned! đŸ™‚

  4. March 30, 2017 3:11 am

    Guarding my creative time against life’s twists and turns has always been my biggest challenge. I do love your painting Martha. It gives me a warm glowing feeling.

    • March 30, 2017 8:27 am

      Oh, thank you so much, Daffodil!! That is so good to know. Yes, I think we artists need to schedule studio time on the appointment calendar. I have a very bad habit of accepting invitations (or making appointments) if I don’t see anything in that time slot. Hm . . . thinking out loud here. Not a bad idea, when you think about it.

  5. April 3, 2017 3:14 pm

    Outstanding Martha! You are so right about working small. That’s one of the reasons I started with ACEOs or ArtCards. Still, working small doesn’t give the feeling of freedom that comes from working on a bigger scale. I may sound a bit odd there, but that’s true for me. I’m giving ArtCards a break but will be back in time. I think when it comes to painting I’m like you my friend. đŸ™‚

    • April 5, 2017 11:04 am

      I love working big and small, Angela, both for different reasons. Painting on a large canvas lets you get your whole body into it, which is always really good for the spirit!

      • April 10, 2017 3:17 pm

        I like both as well. I just can’t seem to get the same feeling from smaller works. Like you said bigger works let you get your whole body into it. Still smaller works will always hold a part of my heart, so I’ll never let them go. đŸ™‚

      • April 13, 2017 9:03 am

        Me too, Angela. And it doesn’t have to be one or the other. We can do it all!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

