Skip to content

Dreaming Paintings

March 19, 2017

All artists get into a slump once in a while and then it becomes difficult to get back into familiar habits of working. Especially when life gets in the way, right? So right now I’m making a conscious effort to get the flow going again. As a result of showing up for work every day, I’m beginning to notice that I look forward to being in the studio more and more, and even hoping for a time when I dream paintings again. I’ve dreamed entire paintings in the past, and then when I wake up, I hurry to try my best to reproduce what I saw in my dream. It hasn’t happened for a very long time. It began happening when I was painting all the time — meaning, going into the studio and staying for most of the day. It was not unusual for me to skip eating, because food just didn’t enter my mind. It’s kind of trippy to have paintings, both real and imagined, constantly running through your brain. Will I get there again? One can only hope. With all the unsettling things going on in the world, added to trying to allow my grief process space to run its natural course, that would truly be a blessing.

Have you ever dreamed a painting?

Transitions

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2017 2:46 pm

    I’ve never dreamed one, I don’t think, but the experience of prophetic painting is probably similar – the same urge to get it out on paper, until you can’t think about anything else.

    I did dream about using half the challah dough to make cinnamon buns, though, and the results were amazingly delicious.

    • March 19, 2017 3:04 pm

      Yes, I do think it’s a similar thing. And I love the idea of challah cinnamon buns. Yum!

  2. March 19, 2017 5:58 pm

    I don’t think I ever have dreamed a painting. Although I do wake up in the middle of the night for a variety of reasons and my mind wanders off to color combinations and ideas. All to be forgotten in the morning of course. I am glad to see that you are able to work again. I know that grief can overwhelm us so much. It is hard to imagine not wanting to paint but grief will do that to us.

    • March 19, 2017 9:16 pm

      Well Roberta, even when I wake up in the middle of the night, my mind doesn’t wander off to painting . . . yet! But it will, with practice. 😉

  3. March 20, 2017 3:21 am

    I wake up thinking of whatever my latest creative passion is – currently it is crochet, so maybe I have been dreaming of it. I would love to dream of your paintings!!!
    Grief is another country and I’m so glad to hear you are allowing yourself to travel through it, taking the time it needs.
    Somebody said to me, just after a loss, that it takes two years – I thought ‘what are they talking about’ but one day I started wearing bright colours again, went to meet a friend, she remarked on my dress and when I thought of the date, it was almost exactly 2 years. I’m sure it is different for everyone and although it never really goes away it changes.
    Like love I think, once you have loved someone, what ever happens after that, the love changes but is always there. Hugs Martha. I’m imagining you in your studio today.

    • March 20, 2017 8:06 am

      Thank you for that, Wild Daffodil. I noticed a slight change in my day-to-day experience — my breathing became more relaxed, and I stopped crying at the odd and unexpected times. I was sleeping better. And when I noticed, I checked the calendar. It had been exactly six months. So I know I’ve gone across some kind of threshold. I know I have a distance to go, but I truly believe that painting is helping tremendously.

  4. March 20, 2017 3:44 pm

    Thanks Martha for commenting on my blog. I love your work, this painting has such atmosphere. I used to have my blog linked to Facebook, but for some reason my posts don’t appear there anymore.

    • March 21, 2017 7:06 am

      Thank you, Ro. Re posting to Facebook: I just copy and paste the link onto my page. I don’t even know how to set mine for automatic linking. Of course we do have different blog platforms. I sometimes regret changing from Blogspot.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

