Skip to content

Speaking of Texture

March 16, 2017

As much as I enjoy being a colorist at times, especially with large canvases, I still love creating small textural works for texture’s sake. Here are three new ones that I’ve sent to Michael Murphy Gallery in Tampa.

Haiku 135 – Mixed Media on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2 inches

Haiku 137 – Mixed Media on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2 inches

Haiku 139 – Mixed Media on Cradled Panel

And not sure whether or not I’ve shown this before, but back when I was teaching a group of students in my studio, I created a texture board for them. It was fun to do, and really only gave a few examples of textures that are possible with acrylics and textural media. Fun stuff. Shown beneath the board image are the individual textures with readable labels.

Texture Sample Board

Glue String GessoGolden Clear Tar GelGolden Heavy Gel GlossGolden Pumice and Lava

Golden Crackle Paste

Golden Self-Leveling Clear GelLiq White Flakes and Cat LitterTexture Samples hBrown Paper Hot Glue

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2017 2:22 pm

    I would love to be able to read the labels on the last photo. Is there any chance that you could attach a larger copy of it and make it clickable so we can see it closer with out the blur of a zooming screen? It looks like it would have been very fun to create. Thanks for sharing!

    • March 16, 2017 2:40 pm

      I will do that, Jill! I was able to blow them up on my screen using ctrl+ and could read them. For some reason, WordPress doesn’t allow clickable pictures any more. Anyway, will put something up as an edit to the post and will let you know when I do.

      • March 16, 2017 4:55 pm

        Jill, the post has been updated to show a bigger picture of each of the texture samples. Disclaimer: They are not professionally photographed, so each one is a slightly different size. I scanned them first, but some didn’t come out well, so I took the board outside to get better lighting on some of them. The glossy ones were problematic, but I wanted to show the gloss, so I kept trying. Hope this helps.

  2. March 17, 2017 11:30 am

    Fascinating stuff! I would love to be able to take a class with you!

    • March 17, 2017 11:32 am

      I would love that, Ann. Some day I want to do online classes, but have a big learning curve ahead of me before starting.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

