Skip to content

The Road Not Taken

February 6, 2017

The original title of this post “A Work in Progress” was perhaps a little bit misleading, because I do think this painting is finished. I don’t have a title yet, because I just stopped work on it late this afternoon. It’s acrylic on canvas, 30×40 inches.

wip-020617

Every painting teaches me something new. It’s been so good to be back in the studio. Still trying to decide on what this new direction is. It’s a thread that I’ve picked up from the road not taken about ten years ago. So may roads not taken, so little time.

Oh, there’s my title. The Road Not Taken.

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2017 8:32 pm

    I love the color and shapes. Not taking that road seems to have worked in your favor.

    • February 7, 2017 5:09 am

      Maybe so, Angeline. For whatever reason, I needed to explore other things for a while. It’s nice to come back to color and scale.

  2. Good Golly Miss Molly permalink
    February 6, 2017 9:10 pm

    Love the painting AND the title!

  3. February 6, 2017 10:53 pm

    I really like the soft edges and dreaminess of this painting.

  4. February 7, 2017 1:27 am

    This is lovely, strong and soft at the same time!

  5. February 7, 2017 2:55 am

    So many roads – so little time…… I can relate to that feeling Martha.

  6. Patricia Jaggie permalink
    February 7, 2017 9:43 am

    New directions are difficult. Stay on it Martha! The road not taken could be an awesome journey. Thanks for sending your thoughts and latest beauty my way.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

