Skip to content

A Magenta Kind of Year

January 6, 2017

I’ve never been a Magenta person. It’s been years since I’ve actually used it. But yesterday, just on a whim, I ordered a 2-ounce bottle of Liquitex Deep Magenta acrylic. I needed a quart of gloss medium anyway, so I figured why not! Could this be a Magenta kind of year? The painting shown here has a touch of Magenta here and there. It’s from 2004 and was rented out to the set decorator for the film The Punisher, which was set in Tampa, Florida. I never saw my painting in the movie for sure, but I think I caught a glimpse of it above the stairway as the bad guy was dying.

Cascading

Cascading – Acrylic on Canvas, 36×36″ – Sold

What color is your year shaping up to be?

Have a creative day!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2017 11:17 am

    I dont do magenta either, so I’ll be waiting to see what your hands will create with that color. 🙂

  2. Good Golly Miss Molly permalink
    January 6, 2017 11:56 am

    I love this post and can’t wait to see how the magenta year goes for you…color is all and I often find myself pondering what color day it is, or month. Now I’ll give some thought to what color year it is and get busy!

    • January 7, 2017 7:01 pm

      I need to try thinking of days in that way, Miss Molly! Sounds like good painting inspiration.

  3. January 6, 2017 8:43 pm

    Cobalt Blue 😀

  4. January 6, 2017 9:34 pm

    Magenta huh? I’ll be interested to see where it leads you. I seem to be into teal, pinks and a touch of yellow at the moment.

    • January 7, 2017 7:06 pm

      Cath, I really don’t know what possessed me. I wanted it because I didn’t have it. Teals, pinks, and a touch of yellow! Sounds summery.

  5. January 9, 2017 6:32 am

    I love seeing your work and hearing about what you are doing. That is exciting having a painting appear in a movie. Thanks for sharing!

  6. mamamiaheather permalink
    February 1, 2017 10:31 am

    I love magenta – Golden Quinacridone Magenta liquid is my fav!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

