Skip to content

Art Heals

October 3, 2016

I am still feeling my way through a fog of disbelief in many ways, but at the same time, little pieces of my art life are beginning to assert themselves from the periphery of my mind. It’s comforting to walk into the studio and imagine making some kind of art. At this point it doesn’t matter what kind, what medium, or even how good it is. But I know it’s important just to pick up somewhere and begin. It’s literally been months since I had some creative time, and I miss it dearly. In my many years of being an artist, I know from experience that art is a healing thing. All I havet to do is start.

I’m posting these things from the past, in part to inspire myself, and in part because I don’t have anything new to show. I hope you see something inspiring as well.

A series in acrylic and texture on cradled panels, each panel 10 x 10 x 2 inches

A series in acrylic and texture on cradled panels, each panel 10 x 10 x 2 inches – SOLD

Even though those paintings are from four years ago, I love color, and anticipate seeing more color showing up in my work again in the future.

Here is one big stack of collage papers. These are incredibly inspiring as well.

Paper Stack

Paper Stack

A random series of paintings:

4 new

A cheerful series, all acrylics and texture on cradled panel, each panel 8x8x2 inches

And another painting . . .

Echoes XIII, acrylic on canvas, 12 x 12 inches

Echoes XIII, acrylic on canvas, 12 x 12 inches

I look forward to being back with you very soon on a regular basis.

Remember: Art heals!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Priscilla Hair permalink
    October 3, 2016 8:52 pm

    I love your pieces. Keep on with this journey I have just been through 9 hours of surgery with 4 surgeons. I really understand how hard it is to get back in the studio I hope we both soon get our creativity soon

  2. October 3, 2016 8:54 pm

    So good to see you here, Martha! You’ve been on my mind. I’m hoping to do some experimenting in encaustic painting this winter, and like those 10 x 10 cradled panels!

    • October 3, 2016 8:56 pm

      Cindy, the nights are getting cool here now, and the leaves are starting to fall. I love winter in the studio! Let us know what happens with your encaustics.

  3. October 3, 2016 9:04 pm

    Martha, I have been thinking of you. So glad to hear you are heading back to the studio. As you say, art is so healing as we both know. I will tell you my story some day. Keep up your beautiful work. Hugs, Candice

  4. Sandra Kennedy permalink
    October 3, 2016 10:24 pm

    So pleased that you are heading back to the studio and wish you all the healing that art can bring you. I just love your acrylic and texture series, beautiful colours. Have started experimenting with oil pastels, for their portability, and bought a box of Faber Castel pastels this morning.

    • October 4, 2016 5:30 pm

      Sandra, I’m always inspired hearing what you’ve been up to. I hope you will share some of your experiments.

  5. October 3, 2016 11:17 pm

    Grief is difficult and heavy, especially when you have lost someone so dear to you! Let your creative spirit guide you, I know mine saved my soul alive. Art does heal, be very gentle with yourself and listen carefully to what you need. Be patient, you will find your way through the fog. Sending a hug and shared tears with you!

    • October 4, 2016 5:31 pm

      Thank you for those words of encouragement and support, Tina. I know this is what I need right now. Art takes me to my center.

  6. October 4, 2016 12:39 am

    Creativity can help us through the most rocky of times. Much love. ❤

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

