Skip to content

A Window In Time

August 18, 2016
By the Rivers of Water Sm

By the Rivers of Water – Acrylic on Canvas, 60×48″

I write this with a heavy heart. My husband passed away last Friday morning. It’s been almost a week, and I’m still in a mild state of shock. There is much to process, which I realize will take some time. I’m so glad the kids came to spend time with him. I’m glad, in the end, that he didn’t have to suffer for too long. He was able to talk with me daily, right up to the last, about the good life we’ve had and how happy we’ve been these past few years, just enjoying each other and the simple pleasures of life — spending time with the kids, little road trips, our pets, good food, just being together.

I wanted to write this because of something very special I want to share with you. Some of you may already have seen this on Facebook. Not long before Jim got his cancer diagnosis, he had reached out to our local arts center, The Kennedy-Douglass Center for the Arts, with an offer to donate a number of my large scale color field paintings for their permanent collection, and perhaps to make some available to the public for sale to benefit the center. They happily accepted our offer, and we delivered the paintings some time in June. Now there is to be an exhibition of them, titled “A Window in Time” which opens today. Jim was so excited about this show, and had so hoped he would be able to be there at the opening reception. Sadly, it was not to be. Here is the press release.

After a little time catching up on some rest and dispensing with life’s details, I know I’ll be back in the studio. I have missed painting. And I know from experience that it will be therapeutic.

 

48 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2016 8:22 am

    My heart goes out to you Martha. How wonderful that you had some positive precious times together and with you family. I’m so pleased to hear about the exhibition, a lovely creative continuation of your partnership. Much love. Take good care of yourself. ❤

    • August 22, 2016 5:18 pm

      Thank you for this, Wild Daffodil. I am so glad they all came while Jim could share some quality time with them. That exhibition was something he wanted so badly to see. The idea behind it was really his gift to me and to the world.

  2. August 18, 2016 8:41 am

    Martha I’m so terribly sorry to hear about Jim. I’ve followed you and your blog for many years and feel like l know you. I am so glad you have a good family and your creative spirit to help you onwards.
    Hugs Bee

    • August 22, 2016 5:19 pm

      Thank you, Bee. I too feel we are old friends. Family and creativity are part of what keeps us going.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    August 18, 2016 9:08 am

    I am so very sorry for your loss.

  4. August 18, 2016 9:56 am

    Martha I am so very sorry for your loss. Words escape me.

  5. Yvonne permalink
    August 18, 2016 10:00 am

    So very sorry to hear about your husband. How special though that he was instrumental in your new show. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, ideas and wonderful insights.

    • August 22, 2016 5:24 pm

      Thank you, Yvonne. I will always remember how this show came together. It wouldn’t have been possible without him.

  6. August 18, 2016 10:20 am

    Thanks for sharing Martha.  I look forward to your post; and am saddened and sorry for your lost.  My husband has dementia and I too cherish everyday we still have together even if he can’t understand most that I say and I can’t understand most that he says.  Looking forward to much inspiration from you.  xoxo

    • August 22, 2016 5:27 pm

      Thank you so much. My heart goes out to you and your husband. I hope you continue to be inspired and uplifted by the creativity all around us. I know I will.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

