Skip to content

On Art and Life

July 20, 2016

This is a quick post to update you on what’s happening in my world. Right after I wrote the last post, just a month or so ago, my husband Jim was diagnosed with advanced pancreatic cancer. This is a cancer that seemingly comes out of nowhere, because the symptoms are things that normally wouldn’t be red flags. It probably goes without saying that our life is turned upside down in every way imaginable right now. He had surgery to place a stent in his bile duct, but no further surgery is being planned at this time. He has begun chemo, and will start radiation this week as well. He will have chemo twice a week and radiation five days a week for five weeks. We are told by the doctors that the tumor might possibly shrink enough to consider surgery later on. That is the hope that we’re clinging to at this point.

In the meantime, art is completely eclipsed by the things we are having to process. I honestly think just throwing some paint around would keep me healthier — at least saner. But I haven’t reached the point of trying that yet. There just hasn’t been time. Maybe I will find a way sometime soon. In the meantime, I’m baking bread with my son, who is here for 10 days.

We have had lots of family here to be with their dad and granddad, and art happened while the little kids were here. Our granddaughter Piper and her little brother River wanted to do something for their granddad. So they painted two of my 16 x 20 inch canvases with tints of blue and white, and glued bottle caps onto them, mosaic style. River drew a shark, and his bottle cap interpretation was rather free-form. Piper decided on a map of the US – minus Alaska and Hawaii – and hers turned out pretty true to the original design. You will notice there is a hot glue gun involved in this project. Note: no children were harmed in the making of these works of art. They had adult assistance at all times. You may also notice a bottle of beer on the table. No, the kids don’t drink beer.

Piper's Map River's Shark

Two of our great-grandchildren were here too. We met the youngest one for the very first time. Family came from as far away as Alaska just to hang out with Jim. It has been a bittersweet time. We miss the kids already. And their moms and dads.

If you’re on Facebook and would like to get regular updates about Jim and his progress, I have started a group and call it Jim’s Army. Feel free to join us. I will update this blog as often as I can as well.

And if I throw some paint, you’ll be the first to know, I promise.

 

20 Comments leave one →
  1. caron tindale permalink
    July 20, 2016 8:07 am

    I enjoy your posts! This news is so tragic for you and your family and friends! I am sending you positive and healing vibes! Your grandchildren are adorable and the art for their Grandad is very special. I love their looks of pride as they posed with their creations.
    Cheers, Caron

  2. July 20, 2016 8:10 am

    I am sorry that you and your family are going through this right now. I will be thinking of you.

  3. July 20, 2016 11:18 am

    Sorry to hear what your family is going through just now.Will keep fingers crossed that the treatment gets your husband to where he need to be. Prayers and hugs…T

  4. July 20, 2016 2:10 pm

    My Dad was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. It is terrifying and unreal how it upends your life. Throwing paint could be a good idea. Your post with the kids making art is a great idea too, so sweet. I hope the best for you and your husband Jim, it’s a hard thing to go through!

  5. July 20, 2016 3:52 pm

    I will be praying for your husband and you also. A huge challenge has come into your life . Family around you is more important than art at this time .

  6. July 20, 2016 7:49 pm

    Oh, bless your heart…that is a devastating diagnosis, and I’m so sorry to hear of it. Stay strong, keep hope alive and take the best care of yourself that you can. You’ll be in my thoughts, Martha, as will your husband.

    • July 21, 2016 6:48 am

      Thank you, Cindy. I see your updates in my email every day, and think of you. I appreciate your caring and your friendship.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

