Skip to content

After The Fireworks

January 1, 2016

photo 2I look forward to the creative and inspiring quiet after the last of the holiday celebrations are over. It’s fun seeing family and making great meals together, but then everyone eventually goes back to their lives. On the nights (and days) surrounding New Year’s Eve there are always the requisite fireworks in the neighborhood, which terrify my pets. I look forward to that being over too.

I wasn’t always an introvert, but have come to realize that I might be one. A friend pointed out to me that some people get their energy from solitude and contemplation, and others get their energy from other people. That made perfect sense to me. I do draw a lot of energy from being with people, especially when it’s making music or art together, but even then, I need some down time afterward to regroup. Maybe it’s not so much people in a general sense, but the kinds of people we choose to be around. Some of us don’t get a choice, because of work or difficult family dynamics. Those can be especially energy-draining.

Whatever your situation, I wish you some nice, quiet down time as we ease ourselves into a new year and a new start on creative possibilities.

new-table-top

Shape Collage 1

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Patricia Jaggie permalink
    January 2, 2016 9:50 am

    Martha, I couldn’t agree with you more. Looking forward to this new year, some quiet time and clear space. I love your workroom photo and colorful collage arrangement. Happy New Year!

  2. January 3, 2016 12:45 pm

    Martha – I also go back and forth between “being with people” and then total solitude. I loved the peek in your studio and most of all the inspiration for the new year.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

