Skip to content

Doodles as Meditation

December 24, 2015

We are approaching my favorite time of the year. Not the “holidays” but the interim right afterward. The beginning of a new year, presenting all kinds of promise, with the quiet time to reflect, to plan, to be inspired toward new directions.

It’s time for a new look for this page, so I’ve created several collages for a new header, which will load randomly from a patchwork of collages. In choosing which ones to include, I don’t think it’s an accident that they lean heavily toward mark making with pencil, pen, or brush.

I’ve been trying to devote more time daily for mark making, and am finding that the experience itself is its own reward. I love to make doodles on top of painted papers, and sometimes on solid toned papers. These doodles will undoubtedly be cut into smaller pieces and used in collage. Some of the smaller images shown here were already cut from larger doodles.

I can’t tell you how gratifying and calming it is just to relax and focus on making lines and marks on paper.

Doodles 13

Doodles 12

Doodles 11

Doodle 10

Doodle 9

Doodle 8

Doodling without a goal in mind is meditative and good for you in general. I hope you’re doodling too!

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2015 9:30 pm

    I haven’t been doodling but have been thinking much about it lately. After seeing yours, I definitely need to start. Happy holidays to you Martha.

    • December 24, 2015 10:37 pm

      Thank you, Candice! Happy holidays to you too! I hope you do find some time for some doodling without a purpose. It’s amazing how much fun it is.

  2. December 25, 2015 8:32 am

    Merry Christmas Morning to you, Martha! I absolutely love the new heading; and most especially the meditative feeling upon seeing it and then individual pieces. Each one, as I scrolled down, I would think oh I love this one….then the next,,,,and I would think oh I love this one more……and so forth. I love this time as well. Looking forward to a new year….hope, joy, new adventures. And, I think I am going to do some doodling myself. A very Happy New year to you. Shirley

    • December 25, 2015 3:49 pm

      Merry Christmas and a very happy new year to you, Shirley! I’m so glad you liked the heading and the doodles. Have fun in this quiet beginning of a new year.

  3. December 25, 2015 9:11 am

    These are wonderful! I love seeing your work as it unfolds and changes direction. Inspirational. Happy holidays!

  4. December 25, 2015 10:56 am

    Wonderful! What a great way, too, to look at the time between Christmas and New Year’s. I’m going to do the same. Merry Christmas!

    • December 25, 2015 3:52 pm

      Thanks, Cindy. Yes, I always look forward to the time when all the madness is over for just a little bit. Although I don’t go all out any more, it just seems like a crazy time, so the new year is a welcome respite. Merry Christmas!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

