Skip to content

Back To The Real World (The Studio, That Is)

September 14, 2015

Abby Cozy

We’ve been back from vacation for a couple of weeks, with several things demanding our immediate attention on our return. Our most urgent concern has been our little senior Whippet, Abby. The day before we left, she had come down with a severe case of pancreatitis. I panicked and almost decided against leaving her, but our vet was the one who was already scheduled to board her and our other dog Angie anyway, so I finally was reassured she would be in good hands. In fact, she was in great hands. He called me every day to update me on her progress, and once even went out to buy her more of her favorite food. But she was still shaky on her feet when we got back, and has needed help getting back in when she goes outside. Abby is getting stronger every day now, and the cooler weather has lifted her mood. The world is made up of two kinds of people — those who see their pets as family, and the rest. We definitely count ourselves part of the first group. So when they hurt, I hurt. When they’re happy, I’m happy.

Before we left, I had ordered and received another box of a dozen 8″ square panels to work on, and put them under a table unopened. Last night I finally got out to the studio and unpacked them, taped off the edges, and applied a generous coat of gesso. Nice way to start a Monday.

Meanwhile, here are some closeups of some of the most recent ones I sent:

Haiku 103 - Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2

Haiku 103 – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2″

Haiku 95 - Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2

Haiku 95 – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2″

I’m hoping to get in some collage time this week as well. It’s nice to switch gears between collage and painting, especially since the paintings require a lot of drying time and waiting.

And finally, I wanted to share a video I just watched this morning. I love to get a little inspiration before heading out to the studio, so this is what I typically do until the spirit moves me to get up out of my chair, or until the second cup of coffee kicks in – whichever comes first. This one is great, because it has little germs of ideas for my own work, and is a fantastic kids’ art project. While you’re there, you might like to click on a couple more of the Blick videos.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2015 11:11 am

    Great demo! Thanks for sharing that! I will have to check their site for more.

  2. Sandra Kennedy permalink
    September 14, 2015 7:00 pm

    Hi Martha, I do hope Abby continues to improve. She looks a real wee darling. My cats were always part of my family when I had a cat, was always very upset when the first one vanished and the second was run over and killed. Will be interested to see more of your small works, have been reading a lot about painting small recently. Am changing from acrylics to oils so small canvases would be a good way to experiment.

    • September 14, 2015 8:01 pm

      Thank you, Sandra! I’d love to hear about your small canvas experiments, especially with the oils.

  3. September 15, 2015 9:14 am

    Good morning, Martha – First, bless your babies – mine have always without question been family, as well. But, since I have not been able to be in the studio for awhile, and will not be able to for a few weeks, I very much enjoyed and was inspired by the video. And, learned something as well. As long as I have done collage work, I have never did the sponge, glue, container usage but will from now on:)) Thanks!

    • September 15, 2015 12:01 pm

      Thanks for the good wishes, Shirley. Glad you enjoyed that little video. That one tip was worth watching the whole video, wasn’t it? (Even though I did really like the stained glass effect of the foils with black.)

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

