Skip to content

Feeling Like An Artist Again

June 19, 2015

Turning my attention to the studio once again has created a kind of awakening. It feels as if I’ve been dreaming all kinds of artworks over the past several weeks (months?) but couldn’t quite make them happen in real life. There have been plenty of other places to focus my energy: all that work in the garden, and other creative distractions — yes, lots of them have been creative, like this:

Bread 1

and this new adoptee from across the river at my sister’s house. Actually there were two clumps of these irises that I plopped into a hole in my flower garden late in the spring, and this one graced me with a bloom! There was just the one bloom, but they will fill out by next spring. Best I can tell is that they are Black Gamecock.

New Iris from Aline

and the last turnips of the season!

Turnips

. . . and a mural in progress on the wall of the church youth room. Wonder how they figured out that I might be able to help them with this. Someone blew my cover, no doubt. And I’ll be helping the little kids’ teacher in the craft room next week at Vacation Bible School.

Meanwhile, back in the studio

I finally dug in and resumed work on the panels that are in various stages of completion. I can’t work on them for very long at a time, because the nature of them is that they require spontaneity. That’s why I work in multiples. If one starts to hit a snag, I simply move onto another one.

Panels June 18 2015

But some days, total snags. At times like that, I may just chalk it up as a frustrating day, or I might shift gears and work on collages.

Yesterday, though, I hit the mother lode. Happy things were starting to happen with the panels (the four on the right, top and bottom, are considered finished) so I stood there as long as my feet would permit, and then I felt inspired to sit down and do some collages. The joy of it is that the creative “juice” was still working, and I was able to have some success with those as well. I think you can tell from these images that things underground and growing are part of my consciousness at the moment.

Collage Collage

It was a good day.

note: you can click on the collage grouping and see all of these newest collages in my Etsy shop.

 

20 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2015 11:23 am

    Always enjoy reading your Blogs. Inspiring. I know what you mean…I have not been able to be in for some time. I miss it. Your radishes look refreshing and delicious.

  2. June 19, 2015 11:38 am

    That looks great Martha. I bet it’s wonderful to be creating again. I can’t wait to see what you create in the future. I’ll definitely be keeping a eye out, as always. 🙂 *HUGS*

  3. ggmissm permalink
    June 19, 2015 12:00 pm

    So enjoying your posts. I’m a fledgling artist – actually a wandering artist who morphed from art school several years ago to writing and am just finding my way back. I learn something from each of your posts and look forward to them. Love the work and reading about your process. Blessings!
    Molly

    • June 19, 2015 12:26 pm

      I’m so glad you are enjoying the blog and the work, Molly. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you won’t be a stranger.

  4. June 19, 2015 12:09 pm

    Totally loving your work Marsha. Both the collages and the paintings. It’s enjoyable to see your process.

    • June 19, 2015 12:29 pm

      Thank you so much, Karen. I appreciate your stopping by. I see you have a blog. It looks wonderful! I’ll have to visit often.

  5. June 19, 2015 9:31 pm

    Always peeking at what you are up to. Question? You work on panels more than canvas. May I ask why? Is it because you love texture and they hold up better? They are more expensive than canvases correct? Thanks again. I always learn from you.

    • June 19, 2015 10:03 pm

      You are right, Karin Lynn. I like the rigidity of the panels so I can treat them roughly when I want to. Sanding, scraping, etc. The second thing I like about them is their clean edges. They might be a little bit more expensive than canvas, but to me they’re well worth it.

      • June 20, 2015 8:37 am

        Thanks again. Do you finish the sides? i.e. Paint them black….

      • June 20, 2015 12:27 pm

        For the longest time I would paint the sides in a coordinating color. Then I went to black, which works very well. This time I’ve taped them off and plan to wax the wood and leave it natural. If you paint the sides, a nice sponge roller or sponge brush does the job nicely.

  6. June 20, 2015 10:42 pm

    Sounds like your forays into nature, via the gardening, stirred up some fresh inspiration. Congratulations.

    • June 20, 2015 11:28 pm

      Thanks, Sandra. I am so happy you discovered my blog. I’ll definitely pay you a visit. Stop by again when you can.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

