Skip to content

Spring Color At Last

April 22, 2015

These are the first of the spring blooms in my garden. Soon after the irises are gone, the amaryllises and Dutch irises will follow. Then will come the sunflowers. I can hardly wait for sunflowers! But wait I must. Gardens teach us patience and give us hope for the future. Today I put in a dozen tomato plants. I wasn’t going to do tomatoes this year, because I’ve had such awful luck with them for the past couple of years. But how do you not have tomatoes?

Spring Collage

My two paintings have been accepted in the local annual juried show. I’ll be getting those ready to deliver next week. They each need a little cosmetic touch-up here and there. Some of the texture has been knocked off in little places on one of them, and the other one has not received its final coat of gloss medium.

Here is a detail shot of the damaged texture. I think it happened because I wasn’t being careful enough to let it dry thoroughly before handling the painting. All I have to do is paint the appropriate color to conceal these little spots. You will see them everywhere there is an obvious speck of white. No big deal.

Matter of the Heart II Detail 1

I’m thrilled that I’ve had some recent art sales, both paintings and collages. It’s always a great incentive to make more art.

These are two collages that recently sold. Thanks so much to my wonderful collectors! You are appreciated more than you know.

I Think I Dreamed It - Collage, 8x8"

I Think I Dreamed It – Collage, 8×8″

Limited Exposure - Collage, 8x8"

Limited Exposure – Collage, 8×8″

I hope you’re enjoying spring (or whatever season it is at your house) and creating something beautiful every day.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2015 12:34 pm

    So happy to get your Blog, today. I have missed it! Your flowers are beautiful and magnificent in the array of colors. Like both of your collages – but, the second the best!
    Congrats on the sales.

    • April 22, 2015 1:22 pm

      Thank you, Shirley! Back to blogging on a more regular basis now, I hope. I’ve missed our exchanges too.

  2. Sandra permalink
    April 22, 2015 4:05 pm

    Congratulations both on the sales and acceptance in the local art show. I love your beautiful flowers, and beautiful artworks, my favourite is actually the painting with the damaged texture – just love the soft colours and the way the composition flows. Incidentally have also sold a painting recently, it wasn’t even one of my favourites!

    • April 22, 2015 4:24 pm

      Hooray for you, Sandra! It’s so good to have a sale. It’s very affirming for an artist. Glad you liked the pics. Thanks!

  3. April 22, 2015 4:59 pm

    Nice post. thanks. Artvoicesintl Team

  4. April 22, 2015 5:16 pm

    Martha, I am an artist from Nigeria and I think I love your abstract paintings, and it’s good news to know you made some recent sales. I have an important question: what inspires or drives your abstract paintings? Also, would you mind if I featured one of your posts in the NIGERIAN OBSERVER newspapers? I am the Arts Editor for the newspaper, and publisher of the Artvoicesintl e-magazine.
    Francis Odupute

  5. April 22, 2015 6:02 pm

    So glad you are posting again. Love the art..especially the one you are touching up. And the lovely flowers. Our flowered trees are just starting here. Tulips only up about 5 “.
    I too sold a vintage vignette recently.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

