Skip to content

The Impulse to Hibernate

January 24, 2015

Winter has been long, and some of it has been unusually cold. Now that I no longer live in Florida, the seasons are distinct and definite. Wintertime has its own challenges, like how to get enough sunshine to keep from suffering from Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD.) I began to suspect I was slipping into this state when all I wanted to do was sleep.

But the sun has been back for the past few days. This is a sunrise from a few mornings ago. These winter trees are west of where I was standing, so the sun, coming up over my shoulder, cast an orange glow on the branches.

Trees in the Morning

It’s been so cold, even the dog and the cat are snuggling in my lap . . . and they usually don’t get along.

Angie and Blueberry

I try to stay warm by baking some bread, which always makes me happy. And it tastes so good, still warm from the oven, with a little Amish butter.

Fresh Loaves

But the best part is that I headed into the studio and spent three days on this painting. It was a great feeling to just paint. I think it’s finished, and therefore it will be ready for the next show coming up in the spring at the local art center (assuming that I get accepted!) This is a quick shot of it, but it does show some of the metallics that are used here and there.

Matter of the Heart - Acrylic and texture on canvas, 40 x 30 inches

Matter of the Heart – Acrylic and texture on canvas, 40 x 30 inches

 

And here are a couple of detail shots.

Matter of the Heart II Detail 4

Matter of the Heart II Detail 3

I hope you’re having a creative week.

 

21 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2015 3:05 pm

    Yes I know what you mean about winter. We are having a giant snow storm today, with more later on tonight. If I could leave home I would.
    Love this painting with its happy colors. Do you normally paint that large?

    • January 25, 2015 7:07 am

      Thanks, Pat. I don’t often paint this large, mainly because I don’t have room for a lot of large paintings. But I do love to paint them.

  2. carlseapatch permalink
    January 24, 2015 3:52 pm

    I love this painting, iridescent!

  3. Anonymous permalink
    January 25, 2015 6:05 am

    Hi Martha. I think the sun has found its way into your painting.

  4. January 25, 2015 8:06 am

    Good morning, Martha – Great Blog for inspiration! What could be better (probably warmer weather:)) ) but, sunshine, beauitiful photos of the trees, furry family, fresh home made bread and your art. Love the piece – the colores and hues are beautiful.

  5. January 25, 2015 12:28 pm

    There’s a reason it’s called S.A.D. That’s how I feel in the dead of winter too. I hate short dreary days that seem to sap creative energy. But, you’re well on your way to recovery with that beautiful painting…and, there’s no reason to think that you won’t be accepted into the show! Keep painting!

    • January 28, 2015 5:45 pm

      Thanks, Fil. It’s always good to have a “deadline.” But I’d keep painting even without one.

  6. hafsa permalink
    January 27, 2015 1:38 pm

    Nyc

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

