Skip to content

Lost and Found (Time, That Is)

December 27, 2014

Have you ever told yourself that you’d do more art if you could only find the time? I say this frequently. Where is that lost time? If it’s not under the bed, under the chair, up on a shelf, or behind the door, then where has it gone? Chances are it’s right there with us, wherever we are.

I think I’ll check my desk chair in the office, where I go with my coffee every morning and surf the web. It’s all legitimate, of course. I call it “art research” or “website maintenance” or “marketing” or “catching up with family and friends” on social media. But if I faced the truth, I would have to admit that there are many rabbit holes and shiny things that catch my attention and keep me there way too long. That has to be the place where all my lost time is, because it’s not spent sitting in front of the TV. I have stopped watching TV at all, except for evenings after dinner with my husband. And even that only has half my attention; I’m mostly there for together time. (Well, I guess technically you could call that potential “found time,” because there is the opportunity to use that time for sketching or doing a small collage or two as I multi-task in front of said TV.)

So yep, there it is. I found my lost time. It was in my chair!

I don’t even want to contemplate how much time is spent not doing art that could just as easily be spent doing art, or marketing that art. Not today. Maybe I’ll think about it tomorrow.

But in the meantime, something rather extraordinary happened the other morning — I think it was Christmas Eve. I decided to sneak into the studio for a little while to do a collage or two. It was an urge, a compulsion, an irresistible force. I had to work fast, because it was going to be a busy day. Usually this is a recipe for failure, because no artist wants to be rushed. But something happened, and I can’t explain it except to say that things just seemed to work for me that morning. I was able to create several small collages, one right after another, that I consider to be successful. The only explanation I have is that I had spent a couple of days prior to that creating some new painted collage papers. So maybe it was the anticipation of using those new papers.

It all started with the one collage shown here. It’s a ghost of a previously-rejected collage, with just one or two new touches. The transformation worked well. That one got me into the flow of working on several more.

Getting them all scanned took almost as long over the past three days as  it took to create them in the first place. But I’m happy with all of them. I’ll be sharing them in future posts.

Lost and Found - Collage, 6x8" on 8x10" backing

Lost and Found – Collage, 6×8″ on 8×10″ backing

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2014 11:36 am

    I enjoyed reading this, Martha. Goodness knows, I often wonder where the time goes too. But, sometimes just spending a few moments in the studio is enough to spark an idea. When it all comes together, without a struggle, is serendipity!

    • December 27, 2014 1:12 pm

      It’s a rare occurrence for me, Fil! I’ll take it, though. It usually requires me to struggle a little bit just to get on a roll.

  2. December 27, 2014 11:47 am

    I certainly took to heart and identified with what you have said. And, found it has inspired me. Thank you. I really, really like the collage – like the feel – it is quite, it is soothing it leaves a gentle feeling.

  3. joarty1 permalink
    December 27, 2014 1:52 pm

    Sometimes it just falls into place doesn’t it. I look forward to seeing the others.

  4. December 27, 2014 3:25 pm

    Martha I love the collage you have shown here – it has a garden feel for me. I am really looking forward to seeing your other new works. Like you, my chair steals my time, but I am working to get some control back.

    • December 27, 2014 4:26 pm

      Thanks, Cath. I am trying too. One thing I’ve been thinking about doing is setting a timer. Easy enough to do!

  5. December 27, 2014 6:49 pm

    Lovely collage! I can’t wait to see more. Great post, too, as I’ve been wondering lately, too, where the time goes! Thanks!

    • December 27, 2014 10:30 pm

      Thank you, Cindy! I have always admired how committed you are to blogging, and always enjoy reading your thoughts.

  6. Pauline Rohrmann permalink
    December 28, 2014 11:37 am

    Hi Martha,
    You seem to be able to capture your work in great detail for your website. I love it! How do you do it? Special camera, settings,??? I would like to be able to share my work with the family but inevitably my photos come out rather flat 😦 Love to hear from you hope you can share your secrets.
    Pauline

    • December 28, 2014 6:54 pm

      Thank you, Pauline. Fortunately, since these collages have been smaller than my scanner, I simply scan them. I even scan my paintings that are on 8×8 panels. If the work is too large for the scanner, I photograph it outside with my digital camera on a tripod, and with not too much direct sunlight. Hope this helps.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

